Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » RECORDS » RECORDS III » Bert Jansch — Living in the Shadows Part Two:
Bert Jansch — Living in the Shadows Part Two: On the Edge of a Dream

Bert Jansch — Living in the Shadows Part Two: On the Edge of a Dream

 Bert Jansch — Living in the Shadows Part Two: On the Edge of a Dream   Bert Jansch — Living in the Shadows Part Two: On the Edge of a Dream (Apr 28th, 2017)•≡•   A master of British folk/blues guitar who influenced countless artists with his self~penned solo work and his tenure with folk~rock heroes Pentangle.
Birth name: Herbert Jansch
Born: 3 November 1943, Glasgow, Scotland
Origin: Edinburgh, Scotland
Died: 5 October 2011, Hampstead, London, England
Album release: 2002 / 2006 / Apr 28th, 2017
Styles: Psychedelic/Garage, British Folk
Record Label: Earth Records
Duration:     43:47
01. Caledonia      4:47
02. Going Home      3:14
03. Crimson Moon      5:25
04. Downunder      2:51
05. October Song      3:42
06. Looking for Love      4:25
07. Fool’s Mate      7:00
08. The River Bank      2:51
09. Omie Wise      4:59
10. My Donald      4:03
11. Neptune’s Daughter      3:20
12. Singing the Blues      2:13
13. On the Edge of a Dream      2:35
14. All This Remains      4:43
15. What is On Your Mind      3:26
16. Sweet Death      3:52
17. I Cannot Keep From Crying      4:06
18. La Luna      3:15
19. Gypsy Dave      2:43
20. Walking This Road      3:16
21. The Quiet Joys of Brotherhood      5:31
22. Black Cat Blues      3:07
23. Bright Sunny Morning      4:08
24. The Black Swan      6:25
25. High Days      3:47
26. When the Sun Comes Up      3:54
27. Katie Cruel      2:59
28. My Pocket’s Empty      3:49
29. Watch the Stars      2:54
30. A Woman Like You      4:13
31. The Old Triangle      4:06
32. Bring Your Religion      3:05
33. Texas Cowboy Blues      3:07
34. Magdalina’s Dance      3:19
35. Hey Pretty Girl      3:03
36. Watch The Stars (Demo)      4:12
37. It Don’t Bother Me (With Johnny Marr)      3:53
38. On The Edge Of A Dream (Demo) 02:44
39. Walking This Road (Demo)      3:39
40. My Pocket’s Empty (Demo)      3:43
41. Cocaine (With Johnny Marr)      4:25
42. Untitled      5:18
43. Chambertin (With Gordon Giltrap)      5:17
44. Katie Cruel (Demo)      3:01
45. Fool’s Mate (Demo)      3:54
46. The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood (Demo)      5:33
•   Bert Jansch     all
•   Traditional     17
•   Bert Jansch / Hope Sandoval     14
•   Richard Fariña / Traditional     21, 46
•   Lightnin’ Hopkins / Bert Jansch     22
•   Bernard Butler Drum Arrangements, Guest Artist, Guitar (Electric), Keyboards
•   Richard Fariña Composer
•   Lightnin’ Hopkins Composer
•   Adam Jansch Cover Art Concept, Guitar (Bass), Keyboards, Photography
•   Bert Jansch Arranger, Composer, Engineer, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Bass), Guitar (Electric), Mixing, Producer, Vocals
•   Ralph McTell Harmonica
•   Colm O’Ciosoig Drums
•   Makoto Sakamoto Drum Arrangements, Drums, Percussion
•   Hope Sandoval Composer, Guest Artist, Vocals
•   Bunt Stafford~Clark Mastering
•   Becky Stewart Package Design
•   Dave Swarbrick Violin
•   Traditional Composer
•   Paul Wassif Slide Guitar
•≡•   Following on from Earth’s definitive collection of Jansch’s 1990s works Living in the Shadows Part Two: On the Edge of a Dream picks up from where it left off, bringing together Bert Jansch’s final recordings, made between 2000 and 2006. This remarkable anthology documents some of Jansch’s finest work, and a man at the top of his game, some forty years(!) after his first release.
•≡•   From the brooding resonance of ‘Crimson Moon’ (where Jansch is joined by Johnny Marr, Bernard Butler and Johnny “Guitar” Hodge, as well as son Adam Jansch and Bert’s wife Loren Jansch) to the intimacy of ‘Edge of a Dream’ (Bernard Butler, Hope Sandoval, Dave Swarbrick, Ralph McTell, Johnny “Guitar” Hodge, Paul Wassif, Adam and Loren Jansch) to the wondrous new folk / trad folk
harmony of ‘Black Swan’ (Beth Orton, Devendra Banhart, Kevin Barker, Helena Espvall, Paul Wassif), these seemingly very different albums all speak of one thing: Bert’s natural talent for turning out extraordinary music, regardless of genre.
•≡•   Disc four, The Setting of the Sun, takes in more demos and unreleased material, with guest appearances from Gordon Giltrap and Johnny Marr adding additional delight for fans old and new. These peeks into Jansch’s recording process are nothing if not fascinating, with his home studio lending itself perfectly to any recording fancy he might arrive at.
•≡•   Like Part 1, this deluxe case~bound set exhibits the sublime attention to detail that has become Earth Recordings’ calling card. Liner notes come courtesy of colleague Bernard Butler and Bert’s son Adam, while a comprehensive listening guide (by esteemed journalist, Dave Henderson) is also included.
AllMusic Review by Chris Nickson;  Score: ***
ι•ι   The couple of years leading up to the release of Edge of a Dream found Bert Jansch getting hip again, with former Suede man Bernard Butler and British guitar hero Johnny Marr singing his praises. Butler’s on board for this album, but so is (surprisingly, perhaps) Hope Sandoval. For anyone familiar with Jansch outings like 2000’s Crimson Moon, there are few surprises. A fair number of new compositions are featured, such as the title track and “All This Remains,” but also some old songs like “I Can’t Keep from Crying Sometimes” and Richard Fariña’s “Quiet Joys of Brotherhood,” both of which play to Jansch’s strengths. He’s not the world’s greatest singer by any stretch of the imagination, but he’s developed his own quiet way of putting a lyric across. The guests tend to be reverent, as if they’re gathered around the feet of the master (which, considering Jansch was recording before they were born, is apt), with the pointed exception of Dave Swarbrick, whose career has been as long as Jansch’s (as is Ralph McTell’s, whose harmonica work is very graceful), and whose fiddle work is wild and rapturous, a counterpoint to the more contained, shaded styles of the others. It’s a carefully arranged record, subdued overall. Jansch himself is never flashy on the guitar (even when he ventures, unusually, onto electric), but he doesn’t need to be — he proved everything years ago. The man is class.
Recognition and awards:
•≡•   In 2001 Jansch received a Lifetime Achievement Award at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, and on 5 June 2006, he received the MOJO Merit Award at the Mojo Honours List ceremony, based on “an expanded career that still continues to be inspirational”.
•≡•   The award was presented by Beth Orton and Roy Harper. Rolling Stone ranked Jansch as No. 94 on its list of the 100 Greatest Guitarists of all Time in 2003.
•≡•   In January 2007, the five original members of Pentangle (including Jansch) were given a Lifetime Achievement award at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. The award was presented by Sir David Attenborough. Producer John Leonard said “Pentangle were one of the most influential groups of the late 20th century and it would be wrong for the awards not to recognise what an impact they had on the music scene.” Pentangle played together for the event, for the first time in more than two decades, and their performance was broadcast on BBC Radio 2 on Wednesday, 7 February 2007. In 2007, Jansch was also awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Music by Edinburgh Napier University, “in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the UK music industry”.
Bandcamp: https://bertjansch.bandcamp.com/
Website: http://bertjansch.com/

Bert Jansch — Living in the Shadows Part Two: On the Edge of a Dream


17. 1. 2020

Lina_Raül Refree

17. 1. 2020

Bombay Bicycle Club

16. 1. 2020

The Adobe Collective



Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE