Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » ARCHIVE » Cowboy Junkies — One Soul Now
Cowboy Junkies — One Soul Now (June 24, 2004)

Cowboy Junkies — One Soul Now (June 24, 2004)

       Cowboy Junkies — One Soul Now (June 24, 2004)
≡♦≡  Soporific Canadian country dream poppers, captured Americana imagination in the late–1980s & early–‘90s.
≡♦≡  The band was nominated for Group of the Year at the Juno Awards in 1990 and 1991. In the early 1990s Margo Timmins was named “one of the fifty most beautiful people in the world” by People Magazine. The group has continued to tour North America, Europe, Japan and Australia with extensive North American and European tours following album releases in 2002 and 2004. In 2008, they released Trinity Revisited in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the original recording of The Trinity Session.Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Album release: June 24, 2004
Record Label: Latent/Zoë Records/ Cooking Vinyl
Genre: Blues/Rock
Duration:     47:41    
•   All songs by Michael Timmins.
01   One Soul Now     4:55
02   Why This One     3:48
03   My Wild Child     3:52
04   From Hunting Ground to City Street     4:42
05   The Stars of Our Stars     4:20
06   Notes Falling Slow     5:57
07   No Long Journey Home     4:17
08   He Will Call You Baby     5:48
09   Simon Keeper     5:52
10   The Slide     3:50
•   Some copies came with a second disc entitled ‘neath Your Covers Part 1 which contained cover versions of:
11   Thunder Road — Bruce Springsteen
12   Seventeen Seconds — The Cure
13   Lungs — Townes van Zandt
14   Darkness, Darkness — Jesse Colin Young
15   Helpless — Neil Young
Producer: Michael Timmins
Cowboy Junkies:
•   Margo Timmins — lead vocals
•   Michael Timmins — guitar
•   Alan Anton — bass
•   Peter Timmins — drums
•   Alan Anton Bass, Bass Instrument, Group Member
•   Jeff Bird Electric Mando Cello, Melodica, Percussion
•   Jaro Czerwinec Accordion
•   Linford Detweiler Organ
•   Dave Houghton Art Direction
•   Peter J. Moore Mastering
•   James Reeder Cover Image, Images
•   Daryl Smith Audio Engineer, Engineer
•   Margo Timmins Group Member, Vocals
•   Michael Timmins Audio Production, Composer, Engineer, Guitar, Producer
•   Peter Timmins Drums, Group Member
•   Jeff Wolpert Mixing
Chart positions: #127 US
AllMusic Review by Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr. / Score: **½
≡♦≡  While it seems more common in the ‘80s, ‘90s, and beyond for a good band to remain intact for ten–plus years, they all face the same challenge: how does one continue to keep the music fresh and remain relevant? The Cowboy Junkies faced an uphill battle from the get–go, always living in the shadow of The Trinity Session (1988), and moving from the mainstream (including major labels, radio play, and a gig on Saturday Night Live) to just under the radar. Despite these changes, the Junkies have still been able to make great albums, like 1992’s Black Eyed Man and 2001’s Open. Both of these albums also showed a band willing to delve into new sounds (country and classic rock, respectively) and come up winners. One Soul Now seems to pick up where Open left off, retaining the tougher sound highlighted by edgy guitar work and a more rhythmic pulse. The title cut opens with acoustic guitar before transforming into a sleepy rocker that manages to be seductive and sinister at the same time. Margo Timmins’ vocals are hypnotically lovely as usual, merging with bluesy guitar riffs and emerging above the morass as the chorus kicks in. Here, and on the following cut, “Why This One,” it’s easy to believe that the Junkies are going to pull off another coup. The arrangements and production of both cuts seem to bring a perfect balance to these songs, and the execution is handled with confidence. On second listen, however, Michael Timmins’ songs tend to float more than move, and by the time the listener reaches the third cut, “My Wild Child,” a familiar complaint against the Junkies emerges: the songs begin to fade into one another, more somnolent than hypnotic. Perhaps that’s why a number of the later cuts choose different approaches by adding everything from organ to accordion to handclaps. Unfortunately, the guitar work on “Hunting Grounds” sounds like an outtake from “Dark Hole Again” on Open, while “Stars of Our Stars” seems cheerfully dissident from the surrounding material. Similar complaints can be made against the remainder of the album, with the Junkies veering between lethargic rockers like “Call You Baby” to atypically upbeat pieces like “No Long Journey Home.” Longtime fans, wondering what the Cowboy Junkies have been up to for the last three years, will probably find several songs to like on One Soul Now. Newcomers will be much happier by picking up Open.  ≡♦≡  http://www.allmusic.com/
Margo Timmins
Born: 27 January 1961, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
≡♦≡  She lives in Toronto with her husband Graham Henderson and their son Ed. However, she likes to spend most of her time at their 100~year~old farmhouse in Grey County, Ontario.
Website: http://www.cowboyjunkies.com/
Label: http://latentrecordings.com/
Label: http://www.rounder.com/ © Guitarist Michael Timmins in concert in 2012. Author: Patrick Huss

Cowboy Junkies — One Soul Now (June 24, 2004)


19. 2. 2020

Caribou — Suddenly

14. 2. 2020

The Men — Mercy



SOFIA TALVIK — Paws of a Bear (Sept. 27, 2019)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE