Dol Ikara — Obsidian Ritual (August 22, 2019)                       Dol Ikara — Obsidian Ritual (August 22, 2019) Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)
Location: Los Angeles, California
Genre: Indie Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Shoegaze, dark fantasty, goth, Obsidian Ritual
Album release: August 22, 2019
Record Label:    27:02
01 Bon Road   4:06
02 Black Flower   4:33
03 Residual   4:00
04 Sparrow   5:31
05 Idyllic   2:42
06 Stone Towers   6:10
Claire Roddy
•     “Obsidian Ritual” ebbs and flows between defeat and empowerment in a ritualistic honesty, embracing both incoherence and clarity, stagnation and transmogrification. Both light and darkness interplay vocally and instrumentally, wherein their juxtaposition is oftentimes indecipherable. Stylistically inspired by surreal dreams, untamed gardens and textures of velvet and lace, the EP sets the stage for the sonic realm in which Dol Ikara resides.
•     Produced and Recorded by Nic Capelle at Rockton Road
•     Mixed by Nic Capelle at Rockton Road and Michael Patterson
•     Mastered by Paul Logus for PLX Mastering
by Alex Rago, SOUNDS. August 22, 2019
•     The hypnotizing vibes of Dol Ikara are something to behold. Inspired by divine feminine, gothic + antique imagery, dark fantasy, and the elements, Dol Ikara is bringing her brand of melancholy indie rock to the world in the form of her debut Obsidian Ritual, officially out today. The project of LA songwriter Claire Roddy finally has life.
•     “The macro process of creating and compiling this EP was ritualistic in every sense of the word…gaining control after acknowledging some unstable years,” Roddy explains. “The ritual unfolded in real~time; I didn’t know which songs were going to be included and which weren’t until I sat down with them for extended periods of time and made sense of them. I noticed the binaries of light and dark, coherence and incoherency tugging at each other — specifically in these six — which seemed most honest. As for the order, I arranged the selected songs to hint at the stages of grief. Clarity arises as the procession progresses.”
•     The EP itself has an aura that connects with all who listen to it. It is a deep, dark, and beautiful plunge into your own mind