Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » RECORDS » RECORDS II » Elliott Power
Elliott Power — Once Smitten (26th Feb 2016)

Elliott Power — Once Smitten (26th Feb 2016)

       Elliott Power — Once Smitten (26th Feb 2016)
•   Your label [Marathon Artists] has an ethos that is evident in their name — it’s a marathon, not a sprint, so they’re not going to make anyone an overnight star. What they’re doing is a long–term project similar to how Stax Records fostered their musicians.
•   Elliott Power: “I’m romantic about music, but at the same time, you have to eat. It’s tough, but there’s got to be a way of making it easier for independents. Everyone is suffering. At the end of the day, you want to make music but there’s always a balance between art and commerce. There have to be compromises along the way, and I don’t mind making those.
•   I finished this record in 2014, so I’ve been sitting on it for two years. It’s frustrating because publicly it looks as though I’ve put out sporadic singles and disappeared. I’ve finished half of my next record in Paris. I recorded it in Francis Bacon’s old studio. My girlfriend’s dad [Michael Peppiatt] is an art critic and when Bacon died, he left him the studio in Paris. Whenever we go to Paris, we stay there because her parents live in another part of Paris. So inevitably, I asked to record there and usually, I just jump on the Eurostar and hang there for a couple of days.
•   I don’t get this whole idea of London being the epicentre anymore. It just seems like such a dated notion. There needs to be another Factory Records. There doesn’t appear to be a community or scene; no–one has to physical meet up if you can just make it look like there is one on the internet.”
Location: London, UK
Album release: 26th Feb 2016
Record Label: Marathon Artists
Genre: Electronic, Alternative, Trip–Hop
Duration:     45:06
01. Murmur      4:46
02. Once Smitten      5:00
03. Sink / Swim      3:45
04. Built on Greed      4:32
05. Unfortunate      3:54
06. Surveillance      3:53
07. Who’s Who?      3:44
08. Move Dust      3:30
09. Blank End      3:11
10. Sword Souls      3:53
11. On the Windrush      4:58
•   A&R – Philippe Ascoli
•   A&R, Creative Director — James Lavelle
•   Art Direction, Design — Ben Drury
•   Creative Director, Vocals — Elliott Power
•   Mixed By, Producer, Programmed by, Vocals — Dorian Lutz
•   Photography, Art Direction — Nick Thornton Jones, Warren Du Preez
•   With his debut album “Once Smitten”, London newcomer Elliott Power explores genre–defying sounds of club–savvy soul, UK bass and paranoid trip–hop — echoing the history of era defining label Mo’Wax and the forward thinking spirit of Marathon Artists. Constructed alongside Elliott’s NuBrain cohort Dorian Lutz, it is an ethereal journey through the underbelly of his native city, regaling tales of dark corners, shady characters and riotous nights, all set against luscious arrangements and driving rhythms.
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/elliottpower
Twitter: https://twitter.com/elliottpower
•   Power lists his mum, JSA, fashion powerhouses, and talks the state of the world with Dummy.
Published: 19/01/16 / Words by : Sean Stanleyhttp://www.dummymag.com/features/10-things-that-inspired-elliott-powers-debut-album-once-smitten

Elliott Power — Once Smitten (26th Feb 2016)


4. 4. 2020


3. 4. 2020

Andrew Swainson



Pancrace — The Fluid Hammer (09 Sep 2019/2LP)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE