Florist — Emily Alone (July 26, 2019)                            Florist — Emily Alone (July 26, 2019) Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)
Location: Catskill Mountains ~ Brooklyn, NY
Album release: July 26, 2019
Record Label: Double Double Whammy
01. As Alone   4:01
02. Moon Begins   3:04
03. Celebration   4:26
04. I Also Have Eyes   4:16
05. Ocean Arms   3:34
06. Time Is A Dark Feeling   2:36
07. M   2:46
08. Now   3:01
09. Rain Song   3:35
10. Still   1:17
11. Shadow Bloom   3:40
12. Today I’ll Have You Around   3:21
By Daniel Sylvester
Published Jul 24, 2019, Score: 9
•⊆⊇•   Over their first two LPs, Brooklyn quartet Florist have often been described as crafting beautifully intimate music; Emily Alone doubles down on that notion. Written recorded solely by vocalist/guitarist Emily Sprague in L.A., Emily Alone is a collection recorded by a musician separated from her bandmates that comes off nakedly stark and personal, even if you weren’t aware of its backstory.
•⊆⊇•   Keeping the Florist moniker for this ten~track LP, Sprague doesn’t feel the need to bring in bandmates for post~recording overdubs and rewrites, leaving tracks like the beautifully poetic “Ocean Arms” and the gentle sigh of “Rain Song” in the author’s capable, bare hands.
•⊆⊇•   But Sprague manages to keep her tracks sounding wonderfully varied and idiosyncratic, as “Celebration” evolves from a tasteful spoken word piece, while “I Also Have Eyes” takes its mood from lightly strung synth lines, and “M” works off of an effective use of a leaf~crunching SFX. Emily Alone is a landmark LP, recorded swiftly to perfectly capture urgent beauty and raw authenticity in its purest forms.