Holy Holy — My Own Pool of Light (12 Jul 2019)               Holy Holy — My Own Pool of Light (12 Jul 2019) Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)Location: Melbourne, Launceston, Brisbane, Australia
Album release: July 12th, 2019
Record Label: Wonderlick Recording Company / Sony Music Entertainment Australia Pty Ltd.
Duration:     46:00
01 Maybe You Know   3:57
02 Faces   3:28
03 Flight   4:46
04 Sandra   3:55
05 Starting Line   3:36
06 Paces#1   4:15
07 People   3:42
08 Teach Me About Dying   3:25
09 Hatswing   4:21
10 (10)   1:10
11 Frida   5:29
12 St Petersburg   4:14
★     “We always want to make music that’s exciting and interesting, and that makes you feel something, and takes risks,” says Carroll. “This is the album we wanted to make.”
★     “Different is good, change is good — new Holy Holy is even better.” — TRIPLE J
★     “Holy Holy write dramatic songs that soundtrack imaginary coming~of~age films from the 80s; music with a propulsion built for highways, house parties and death pacts.” — THE GUARDIAN
★     “Holy Holy are a band that embodies what music and performance should be.” — THE MUSIC
★     “Holy Holy have the infectious urgency of a band reinventing itself.” — THE AGE
Holy Holy’s ‘My Own Pool of Light’ is creatively refreshing without going astray.
★     In the two years since releasing their second album Paint, it’s clear that Holy Holy have been making some changes and broadening their horizons. These efforts arrive in the form of their latest album, My Own Pool Of Light.
★     Fear not, the intricate melodies, soundscapes, and ever~present alluring hooks haven’t been left behind. One could say they’ve simply been given a new home amongst a plethora of fresh sounds and instrumentation.
★     Pegged as the group’s biggest creative leap since the release of their debut album five years ago, ‘Maybe You Know’ kicks off the album with a steady drum beat and a sharp riff. It’s accompanied by songs like ‘Flight’, ‘Sandra’ and ‘Teach Me About Dying’, all of which provide the perfect marriage of the new and the old.
★     ‘Hatswing’ is a taster of the musicality and creativity the duo has had hidden up their sleeve. It’s a rhythmically urgent tune that relies on the impeccable percussion to drive it along, yet still manages to maintain the anthemic vocals that fans have come to love from Holy Holy.
★     Vocalist Timothy Carroll comes through at the end of the record with a hauntingly slow and atmospheric vocal performance on ‘St Petersburg’. It’s one of the many songs on the 12~track album that give an idea of the creative freedom finally attained by Carroll and guitarist Oscar Dawson. Score: 9
★  https://www.beat.com.au/ 
★     This is another of the semi~makeshift studios we worked in to make this record. This time in a friend’s place in Launceston — Jack MacLaine from the band Sumner. I’m staring quizzically at my computer — it’s likely I’m internally raging at a software bug.
Website: http://www.holyholymusic.com/ 
FB: https://www.facebook.com/holyholymusic/ 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/holyholymusic