Intocable ― Percepcion (March 15, 2019)Flag of Mexico                     Intocable ― Percepcion (March 15, 2019)
•  INTOCABLE is one of the most influential groups in the Tejano/Norteño music scene today. Their road to success began twenty years ago in Zapata,Texas, when friends Ricky Muñoz and René Martínez dreamed of bringing their songs to the world as they crafted a unique and extraordinary style of music which expertly fuses Tejano conjunto music, Norteño folk rhythms, pop ballads and rock.
•  After years of dedication and passion, the dream became an indisputable reality. With #1 hits such as “Robarte un Beso,” “Prometí,” “Te Amo (Para Siempre),” “Culpable Fui (Culpable Soy),” their latest “Tu Ausencia,” as well as fan favorites like “Dame Un Besito,” “Eres Mi Droga,” Enséñame a Olvidarte,” “Sueña,” “Contra Viento y Marea,” “Llueve,” “Arrepiéntete,” among others, INTOCABLE continues to entertain and delight audiences in both the United States and Mexico.
Location: Zapata, Texas.
Styles: Mexican Traditions, Norteno, Tejano, Conjunto
Album release: March 15, 2019
Record Label: Fonovisa
Duration:     49:53
01 No Van A Entender   3:08
02 Quédate Conmigo   3:08
03 Nadie Es Indispensable   3:30
04 Dile Al Tiempo   2:53
05 Nunca Volverás   4:12
06 Que Voy Hacer   4:21
07 Después De Quererte   2:54
08 Tu Soledad Y La Mía   3:54
09 Dímelo De Frente   3:27
10 Por Alguien Más   5:17
11 Te Perdí (De Nada Me Sirve El Perdón)   2:39
12 Me Dueles   3:47
13 Beso Incompleto   3:46
14 Muero   2:57
Written by:
•  José Alberto, Inzunza Favela   1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 12
•  Wilfran Castillo / Ricardo Muñoz   4, 14
•  Pablo Preciado   5
•  Luis “Louie” Padilla   9, 10, 11
•  Martín Vargas Morales / Juan Pablo Isaza Pineros / Simon Vargas / Juan Pablo Villamil   13
•  Ricardo Javier “Ricky” Muñoz ― (Lead Vocalist, Accordion)
•  René Orlando Martínez ― (Drums, Chorus)
•  Sergio Serna ― (Percussion)
•  Johnny Lee Rosas ― (Second Vocals, Bajo Sexto)
•  José Juan Hernández ― (Group Motivator and Rhythms)
•  Alejandro Gulmar ― (Bajo Sexto)
•  Felix Salinas ― ( Bass )
•  Former: Daniel Sánchez, Félix Salinas, Johnny Lee Rosas, José Ángel Farías, José Juan Hernandez, René Martínez, Ricky Muñoz, Sergio Serna, Silvestre Rodríguez, Alberto Ramírez, Alejandro Gulmar
AllMusic Review by Thom Jurek; Score: ★★★★
•  2019 marks the 26th anniversary of Intocable, Zapata, Texas’s favorite musical sons. Percepcion, their 22nd album, finds the kings of Tejano/ Norteno fusion delivering their signature meld of rocking conjunto, norteno rhythms, and folk ballads all sewn together with hooky pop melodies, with a new twist provided by producer and Blue Note boss Don Was. It’s a first for both parties as Intocable have until now experimented musically with all kinds of sounds from country (on the unfairly maligned 2006 date Crossroads: Cruce de Caminos) to vintage Texas and Mexican R&B to Western~styled roots rock. Was had never worked with a Tejano band. He was as much a student and music fan as a guiding hand in the studio. He understood implicitly that singer/accordionist Ricky Munoz and company — with a large, engaged following across the Americas — didn’t need him to succeed; they chose him because he is subtle, attentive, and open~minded, and he asks questions before he offers opinions or answers. (The band called him “Yoda.”)
•  Percepcion collects 14 new tracks, most penned by popular songwriters Joss Favela, Luis “Louie” Padilla, and Wilfrido Castillo. “No Van Entender” opens with a rumbling tom~tom and kick drum before a cut~time snare careens in with a shuffling norteno beat. Munoz’s accordion dances around the strummed acoustic guitars and thrumming electric bassline and delivers Favela’s poetic lyrics in a love song that acknowledges brokenness and loss, and affirms itself in the moment as a chance worth taking. “Quédate Conmigo” is a rocker worthy of Los Lobos, complete with R&B shuffle, popping tom~toms, and Munoz popping the chord voicings on his accordion. “Nunca Volveras,” by Pablo Preciado, is among the most tender, smoldering ballads Intocable has ever recorded. “Que Voy Hacer” walks the line between Mexican cumbia and bluesy norteno. “Después de Quererte” is dancehall corrido at its best, while “Beso Incompleto” flirts with old~school ’60s pop and country rock with the accordion engaging in call and response with the bajo sextos as Munoz’s sweet, perfect tenor croons passionately over the top with subtle sonic effects framing the backdrop. “Dimelo Frente” is another fingerpopping number with Munoz delivering one of his squeezebox solos, before entering with the sultry lyrics. Throughout, these songs are imbued with lithe, canny, textural touches that add depth and warmth: The experimental drum sounds on “Te Soledad la Mia,” and the shimmering reverb on the heartbreaking “Por Alguien Mas” with its salsa breakdown in the bridge, are just two examples of the kind of near~symbiotic union at work here.
•  Was is perfect for Intocable; he doesn’t just get the music, he gets the band; they, in turn, respect and trust him. Percepcion follows the wonderful Highway by three years, and as such it’s not only a worthy successor, but one of the finest albums in their catalog.