Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Jeffrey Lewis
Works By Tuli Kupferberg (1923~2010)

Jeffrey Lewis — Works By Tuli Kupferberg (1923~2010) (April 15, 2018) Jeffrey Lewis — Works By Tuli Kupferberg (1923~2010) (April 15, 2018)
•∴•     Native New Yorker Jeffrey Lewis is a comic book writer/artist and a musician.  Jeffrey Lewis and his band tour the world, mixing folk with noise and sharing stages with the likes of Stephen Malkmus, The Mountain Goats, and more. Jeffrey has had albums on Rough Trade since 2001, his comic Fuff has been running since 2004, and he’s been featured by NPR, The History Channel, The NY Times and more.
Born: November 20, 1975, New York City, United States
Location:  Lower East Side, New York City, NY
Album release: April 15, 2018
Record label: Don Giovanni Records
Duration:     48:48
01 What Are You Going to Do After the Orgy?     2:44
02 Try to Be Joyful    2:53
03 Morning Morning     2:37
04 I Want to Hold Your Foot     2:19
05 Not Enough Loving     2:49
06 This Is a Hit Song     2:38
07 This Train Is Bound for Brooklyn     1:51
08 Carpe Diem     5:04
09 Love & Ashes     4:07
10 Hypothalamus     2:46
11 Life Is Strange     5:45
12 Listen to the Mockingbird     2:54
13 The and Song     3:40
14 I Was Much Mistaken     3:45
15 No Deposit, No Return     2:56
•     Jeffrey Lewis = guitar, vocal, keyboard, melodica, and producing
•     Brian Speaker = electric lead guitar, and engineering/recording
•     Steve Espinola = piano, electric tennis racket, vocal
•     Peter Stampfel = fiddle, vocal
•     Mem Pahl = bass, vocal
•     Brent Cole = drums, vocal
•     Heather Wagner = drums, vocal
•     Spencer Chakedis = mandolin, vocal
•     Rebecca Tilles = bass, vocal
•     Rachel Swaner = melodica, vocal
•     Julie LaMendola = vocal
•     Leslie Graves = vocal
***      BONUS OFFER!  The first 86 people to pre~order the CD will get an exclusive download code for four live tracks, songs NOT on the album, available ONLY with this pre~order offer! Only 86 codes are available (one for each year Tuli was on planet earth)!
•Σ•     Underground legend Tuli Kupferberg (1923~2010) was always the oldest man in rock and roll, co~founding the Fugs in the winter of 1964~1965 when he was already in his early 40s.  Being twice the age of Dylan, Reed, Jagger, et. al, never stopped Tuli from consistently being more outrageous.  Latter~day bohemian torch~bearer Jeffrey Lewis befriended Tuli in the early 2000s, and has personally organized “Tuli~day” memorial tribute concerts every year since Tuli’s passing.  This album documents some of the finer fruits of Jeffrey’s tribute arrangements, drawing from a four~decade range of Tuli’s various creative voices, from poignant 60s classics (“Morning Morning”) to never~recorded lyrics (“Listen to the Mockingbird”), poems set to music (“The And Song”), works that Tuli called parasongs (“I Wanna Hold Your Foot”) and later~period Fugs gems (“Try to Be Joyful”).  Across the board Jeffrey Lewis directs a co~ed band of wild and wooly cohorts, including original Fugs member Peter Stampfel, to bring the same surprising interpretive life to these covers as he brought to his critically~acclaimed 12 Crass Songs album.  Whether or not you’re a Fugs fan or a Jeffrey Lewis fan, Works by Tuli Kupferberg is a rollicking, laughing, tear~jerking, psychedelic ride through a hidden history of New York City folk~punk sub~genius.  Recorded in the free~wheeling spirit of the original 1965 Fugs recordings, this is an album fifty years in the making.
Website: http://www.thejeffreylewissite.com/
Label: http://dongiovannirecords.com/
Bandcamp: https://jeffreylewis.bandcamp.com/album/works-by-tuli-kupferberg-1923-2010
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JeffreyLewisBand
01) What Are You Going to Do After the Orgy
•     (unrecorded early 1965 Fugs song)
02) Try to Be Joyful
•     (there’s a version on the late~period “Fugs Final CD part 1” from 2003)
03) Morning Morning
•     (from the “Fugs II” album, 1966)
04) I Wanna Hold Your Foot
•     (from Tuli’s “Listen to the Mockingbird” songbook series, 1970s)
05) Not Enough Loving
•     (from a 1960s Tuli home~demo tape, released as part of a bonus track on a Fugs CD)
06) This is a Hit Song
•     (there’s a version on the late~period Fugs album “Be Free” from 2010)
07) This Train is Bound for Brooklyn
•     (from Tuli’s “Listen to the Mockingbird” songbook series, 1970s)
08) Carpe Diem
•     (from the first Fugs album, 1965)
09) Love & Ashes
•     (from the “East Village Other Electric Newspaper” compilation album from 1966)
10) Hypothalamus
•     (from a 1960s Tuli home~demo tape, released as part of a bonus track on a Fugs CD)
11) Life is Strange
•     (from the Fugs “It Crawled Into My Hand” album, 1969)
12) Listen to the Mockingbird
•     (from Tuli’s “Listen to the Mockingbird” songbook series, 1970s)
13) The And Song
•     (from a poem on the Shimmy Disc “Tuli & Friends” album that Kramer recorded in the 80s)
14) I Was Much Mistaken
•     (from a 1990 Shimmy Disc compilation, but there are late~period Fugs live versions too)
15) No Deposit, No Return
•     (from the 1966 Tuli solo album “No Deposit/No Return”)

Jeffrey Lewis
Works By Tuli Kupferberg (1923~2010)


6. 4. 2020


4. 4. 2020




Alessandra Leão ‎— Macumbas e Catimbós (24/05/2019)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE