John Hiatt Mystic Pinball (2012)

John Hiatt ≡ Mystic Pinball (2012)

John Hiatt — Mystic Pinball
Born: August 20, 1952, Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Genres: Americana, folk rock, country, blues, heartland rock
Instruments: Vocals, guitar, keyboard, harmonica
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, US
Album release: September 25, 2012
Record Label: New West Records
Duration:     46:00
01. We're Alright Now       4:24
02. Bite Marks       3:38
03. It All Comes Back Someday       3:40
04. Wood Chipper       4:38
05. My Business       3:08
06. I Just Don't Know What To Say       4:40
07. I Know How To Lose You       3:51
08. You're All The Reason I Need       3:49
09. One Of Them Damn Days       2:48
10. No Wicked Grin       3:57
11. Give It Up       4:10
12. Blues Can't Even Find Me       3:34
Editorial Reviews
John Hiatt builds on the worldwide success of his last album Dirty Jeans & Mudslide Hymns that featured the Top 20 A3 single "Adios To California", with his new album Mystic Pinball. Hiatt works again with producer Kevin "Caveman" Shirley (Silverchair, Aerosmith, Joe Bonamassa), delivering a record that features Hiatt s timeless songwriting. The first single is "We're Alright Now."
Acclaimed musician and songwriter John Hiatt will release Mystic Pinball on September 25th via New West Records.  Called “…one of rock’s most astute singer-songwriters of the last 40 years” by the Los Angeles Times, Hiatt continues to write brilliant character studies, twisting entertaining storylines with cunning lyrics and wry humor including “We’re Alright Now,” the first single from Mystic Pinball. “We’re Alright Now” is a blues driven, gospel song available to hear at Mystic Pinball will be available as both a CD and on limited edition 180-gram vinyl. 
Hiatt and his band, The Combo, have gained a reputation for captivating crowds at their live shows as The Tennessean depicts: “He prowls the stage, delivering the bluesy stuff in a whiskey-burn howl, shouting the rock stuff and fronting a formidable band that can turn on a dime, from ballads to bombast.”  Hiatt & The Combo begin a US run mid-August that includes dates with Steve Earle, a special appearance at the Americana Festival in Nashville and two shows at City Winery in NYC (full list of dates below.)
For Mystic Pinball, Hiatt’s 21st studio album, Hiatt turned to producer Kevin “Caveman” Shirley (Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Joe Bonamassa.) Shirley also produced Hiatt’s highly praised Dirty Jeans And Mudslide Hymns, which the New York Times declared was “…his best since 1995.” Hiatt relies on the exceptional musical skills of Doug Lancio (electric guitar, mandolin, Dobro), Kenneth Blevins (drums and percussion) and Patrick O’Hearn  (bass) to play with him on the record.
John Hiatt’s career as a performer and songwriter has spanned more than 30 years and everyone from Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, BB King, Bonnie Raitt and Iggy Pop has covered his work. Hiatt began his solo career with the 1974 album Hangin’ Around the Observatory. His landmark 1987 release Bring The Family, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year, was his first album to chart in the U.S. 2000’s Crossing Muddy Waters was called “The most natural and relaxed John Hiatt album in years…” by All Music Guide. In 2008, Hiatt released Same Old Man, was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame and was honored by the Americana Music Association with their prestigious “Lifetime Achievement in Songwriting Award.” Critical acclaim continued for The Open Road (2010) with The Boston Herald praising “Hiatt knocks together a rocking, full-throttle road record that in its tone, toughness and mix of blues, r & b and country harkens back to his landmark Bring the Family” while the Associated Press proclaimed “Hiatt remains at the top of his game” in reference to Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns (2011.)
2000 Nashville Music Awards: Songwriter/Artist of the Year
2008 Americana Music Association: Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting
Studio albums:
Hangin' Around the Observatory, Epic Records (1974)
Overcoats, Epic Records (1975)
Slug Line, MCA Records (1979)
Two Bit Monsters, MCA Records (1980)
All of a Sudden, Geffen Records (1982)
Riding with the King, Geffen Records (1983)
Warming Up to the Ice Age, Geffen Records (1985)
Bring the Family, A&M Records (1987)
Slow Turning, A&M Records (1988)
Stolen Moments, A&M Records (1990)
Perfectly Good Guitar, A&M Records (1993)
Walk On, Capitol Records (1995)
Little Head, Capitol Records (1997)
Crossing Muddy Waters, Vanguard Records (2000)
The Tiki Bar is Open, Vanguard Records (2001)
Beneath This Gruff Exterior, New West Records (2003)
Master of Disaster, New West Records (2005)
Same Old Man, New West Records (2008)
The Open Road, New West Records (2010)
Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns, New West Records (2011)
Mystic Pinball, New West Records (2012)


The BandJohn Hiatt


John Hiatt - Vocals, Guitar

  Kenneth Blevins


Kenneth Blevins - Drums 



Doug Lancio - Guitar 


Patrick O'Hearn


Patrick O'Hearn - Bass


Image of John HiattImage of John Hiatt File:Hiatt.jpg © John Hiatt at Tavastia, Helsinki 6.11.2010 / Author: Henri Aulis Vesala © John Hiatt & The Combo playing in Albuquerque, New Mexico © John Hiatt & The Combo- SXSW at Waterloo Records  © John Hiatt & The Combo;  Photo by Nanci 

File:John Hiatt & The Combo.JPG
© John Hiatt & The Combo at TFF Rudolstadt July 5, 2012. L.t.r.: Doug Lancio,John Hiatt, Nathan Gehri & Kenneth Blevins / Author: Schorle
John Hiatt Mystic Pinball (2012)