Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » ARCHIVE » Lucifer's Friend
Lucifer's Friend — Where The Groupies Killed The Blues (1972) [Reissue 1991]

Lucifer's Friend — Where The Groupies Killed The Blues (1972) [Reissue 1991]

 Lucifer's Friend — Where The Groupies Killed The Blues
•   John Lawton (born 11 July 1946 in Halifax, England) is a rock and blues vocalist best known for his work with Lucifer's Friend, Uriah Heep and the Les Humphries Singers.
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Album release: 1972
Recorded: 1971 — 1972
Record Label: Repertoire Records (RR 4143–WP) / Passport (US) / Vertigo Records in Europe
Duration:     41:26
01. Hobo     3:48
02. Rose On The Vine     8:24
03. Mother     7:32
04. ...Where The Groupies Killed The Blues     5:10
05. Prince Of Darkness / Summerdream     3:54    
06. Delirium / No Reason Or Rhyme     8:06
07. Burning Ships     4:34
•   A German outfit fronted by a British singer, Lucifer's Friend first gained minor notoriety, and later major cult status, as both early practitioners of heavy metal and progressive rock. Stunning second album from this experimental German group. Within the space of 9 tracks they manage to sound like Led Zeppelin (check out opening number "Hobo!"), Uriah Heep, Genesis and Soft Machine in an excellent mixture of hard rock and surreal progressive music.
Original LP Track listing:
Side one:
01 "Burning Ships"  (Hesslein, Horns, Lawton)     4:34
02 "Prince of Darkness"  (Hesslein)     5:37
03 "Hobo"  (Hesslein, Lawton)      3:42
04 "Mother"  (Hecht)     7:25
Side two:
05 "Where the Groupies Killed the Blues"  (Hesslein)     5:04
06 "Rose on the Vine"  (Hesslein)     8:19
07 "Summerdream"  (Hecht, Hesslein)     8:56
•   John Lawton — lead vocals
•   Peter Hesslein — lead guitars, vocals, percussion
•   Peter Hecht — keyboards
•   Dieter Horns — bass
•   Joachim Rietenbach — drumsAllMusic Review by Donald A. Guarisco;  Score: **
•   On their second album, Lucifer's Friend pushes their sound in a more straightforward prog–rock direction with mixed results. The resulting album, Where the Groupies Killed the Blues, shows the band had the instrumental dexterity necessary for this style of music but lacked the discipline to create focused and coherent art rock. The album is riddled with instrumental solos that seem so different from the songs surrounding them that they often feel like they have been arbitrarily added to the songs. A good example of this problem is "Rose on the Vine": it features an arresting, Black Sabbathish guitar riff that is effectively doubled by the vocal melody but makes the mistake of burying these hooks in a series of noodly keyboard and guitar solos. The numbers that work the best are the ones that cut back the excesses and play up the group's songwriting skills: "Hobo" is a keyboard layered rocker built on a solid array of riffs and a dramatic vocal from John Lawton, and "Burning Ships" is an acoustic–based number that utilizes the band's instrumental chops to create a compelling atmosphere for the strong tune at its core. Ultimately, Where the Groupies Killed the Blues is neither fish nor fowl: it is too artsy and jazzy to please heavy metal fans, yet is too full of guitar bombast to make a comfortable listen for prog fans. It has enough moments of interest for anyone seriously interested in the work of Lucifer's Friend, but will most likely be seen by casual listeners as an interesting misfire. Ξ  http://www.allmusic.com/
Website: http://www.lucifers-friend.de/
Website: http://www.johnlawtonmusic.com/_____________________________________________________________

Lucifer's Friend — Where The Groupies Killed The Blues (1972) [Reissue 1991]





Stereolab — Margerine Eclipse (Nov. 29, 2019)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE