Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

0,00 CZK


  MICK HARVEY — INTOXICATED WOMEN (20 Jan. 2017)MICK HARVEY — INTOXICATED WOMEN (20 January 2017) ♦♥♦   Mick Harvey has unveiled the video for ‘Deadly Tedium’, his translation of Serge Gainsbourg’s ‘Ce Mortel Ennui’. ‘Deadly Tedium’ is taken from Mick Harvey’s latest album of Serge Gainsbourg translations, Delirium Tremens, out now on Mute.
♦♥♦   Says Mick Harvey, “The song ‘Deadly Tedium’ (Ce Mortel Ennui) was always on my radar as a possibility to translate. Being a kind of “anti” love song it’s typical of the more perverse aspects of Gainsbourg’s writing and atypical of songs about the breakdown of love and relationships and is loaded with dry, black humour.”
♦♥♦   Mick Harvey will be in conversation at the French Institute on Tuesday 1 November, discussing his relationship with the work of Serge Gainsbourg and the translation process involved in his interpretations of Gainbourg’s work which began with 1996’s Intoxicated Man release and continue with the release of the fourth and final volume, Intoxicated Women, out via Mute on 20 January 2017.Fotka uživatele Ben Tais Amundssen.Birth Name: Michael John Harvey
Born: 29 September 1958 in Rochester, Australia
Location: North Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Genre: Alternative, Dream Pop
Album release: September 9th, 2016
Record Label: Mute
Duration:     41:59
01 Ich Liebe Dich…Ich Dich Auch Nicht (feat. Andrea Schroeder)
02 All Day Suckers
03 Contact (feat. Channthy Kak & Xanthe Waite)
04 Prevert’s Song (feat. Jess Rebeiro)
05 The Eyes To Cry (feat. Sophia Brous)
06 Puppet Of Wax, Puppet Of Song (feat. Xanthe Waite)
07 Baby Teeth, Wolfy Teeth (feat. Solomon Harvey)
08 God Smokes Havanas (feat. Andrea Schroeder)
09 While Rereading Your Letter (feat. Sophia Brous)
10 Sensuelle et Sans Suite (feat. Lindelle~Jayne Spruyt)
11 The Homely Ones (feat. Xanthe Waite)
12 Lost Loves
13 Striptease (feat. Xanthe Waite)
14 Lost Loves
15 Striptease (feat. Andrea Schroeder)
16 The Drowned One (feat. Jess Rebeiro)
17 Cargo CultFotka uživatele Ben Tais Amundssen.Bio:
°   “Harvey’s intimate understanding of Serge’s rich catalogue allows him to smother markedly different compositions…with a menacing Bad Seeds swagger.” — Uncut 8* review
°   Mick Harvey has announced the release of Intoxicated Women, the fourth and final volume of his Serge Gainsbourg translations series, which began in 1995 with the release of Intoxicated Man.
°   The renowned musician, singer~songwriter, arranger, multi~instrumentalist and record producer is best known for his long~term collaborations with Nick Cave, with whom he formed the Boys Next Door, the Birthday Party and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. Harvey is also a band member for P.J. Harvey.
°   Intoxicated Women mainly concentrates on the duets and songs written by Gainsbourg, mostly during the 60s, in a period where he was focusing his songwriting on singers such as France Galle, Juliette Greco and most famously, Brigitte Bardot.
°   Here Harvey has enlisted the talents of guest singers Channthy Kak (Cambodian Space Project), Australian singers Xanthe Waite (Terry, Primo), Sophia Brous, Lyndelle-Jayne Spruyt and Jess Ribeiro and the German chanteuse Andrea Schroeder plus the special appearance on ‘Wolfy Teeth’ by Harvey’s son, Solomon.
°   Intoxicated Women opens with a stunning version of ‘Je T’aime… (Moi non plus)’ — here titled ‘Ich Liebe Dich… (Ich Dich Auch Nicht)’ — rendered in the sexiest imaginable German by the divine Ms. Schroeder and culminates with ‘Cargo Cult’, the closing track from the classic Melody Nelson album. In between we are treated to a smorgasbord of Gainsbourg gems in English (with a bit of Khmer thrown in).
°   The first single, ‘Baby Teeth, Wolfy Teeth’ is a translation of Gainsbourg’s 1967 duet, ‘Dents de Lait, Dents de Loup’ — one of many songs Gainsbourg wrote for the French yé yé singer France Galle — and is here sung with Harvey’s son, Solomon.
°   “After the initial recordings for Delirium Tremens, JP Shilo and I continued investigating the duets and female songs, many of which were unknown to me. So it became a voyage of discovery into quite a lot of material I hadn’t heard before. There are even a couple of songs for which the only versions existing from the 60s are from TV performances Serge gave.” [‘The Drowned One’ (‘La Noyée’) and ‘Wolfy Teeth’ (‘Dents de Lait, Dents de Loup’).Fotka uživatele Ben Tais Amundssen.                                   © Photo credit: L.J.Spruyt./L.J.Spruyt Photography
°   A recent reissue of volume one and two rekindled Harvey’s interested in the Gainsbourg translations and 20 years after the release of volume one — Intoxicated Man, work began on what would become volumes three and four. Recording in late 2015 in Melbourne with J.P. Shilo and the rest of his Antipodean~based live band, 10 songs were tracked at Birdland Studios. The project then relocated to Berlin where a further nine songs were recorded with Toby Dammit (The Stooges, Residents) and Bertrand Burgalat (of French label Tricatel) who was the string arranger on the first two volumes.
°   The resultant recordings served to whet Harvey’s appetite for more and almost immediately work continued back in Melbourne in order to have enough material to fill two new volumes. Along with principle musical collaborator, Shilo (with whom Harvey also worked on Rowland S. Howard’s ‘Pop Crimes’) and Melbourne based musicians Glenn Lewis and Hugo Cran, Harvey enlisted the aforementioned female singers to help complete this final volume in the series.Fotka uživatele Ben Tais Amundssen.Solo albums:
°   Intoxicated Man (1995)
°   Pink Elephants (1997)
°   One Man’s Treasure (2005)
°   Two of Diamonds (2007)
°   Three Sisters — Live at Bush Hall (2008)
°   Sketches from the Book of the Dead (2011)
°   Four (2013)
°   Delirium Tremens (2016)
Website: http://www.mickharvey.com/
Label: http://mute.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mickharvey4ever/Fotka uživatele Ben Tais Amundssen.