Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Morrison Kincannon — Beneath The Redwoods (Jan. 26, 2018)

Morrison Kincannon — Beneath The Redwoods (Jan. 26, 2018) Morrison Kincannon — Beneath The Redwoods (Jan. 26, 2018)Morrison Kincannon — Beneath The Redwoods (Jan. 26, 2018)✹    Chybějící kousek nekonečné neustále se vyvíjející hudební scény v jižní Kalifornii. ✹    “Songwriting/making rhyming lyrics was bred into me ever since I can remember,” says Morrison now, speaking years down the line. “Before I played an instrument according to my mom, I was always singing a little ditty and using my imagination.”
✹    A teenage Morrison and pal Terry Kincannon started working together, writing songs, recording, many on to 8~track (ask your parents) or cassette. The influences are numerous and all very West Coast (Dylan, James Taylor, Crosby, Stills & Nash, The Eagles and, er, Perry Como, according to Morrison), and spent much of the 1970s writing and recording, amassing a vast archive of recordings, few of which saw the light of day. 
✹    A clutch of them made it to seven inch, near private press singles, some of which made their way across the Atlantic. Meanwhile, despite being signed to assorted management deals and the likes, Morrison Kincannon were still beavering away, although less and less. As Morrison notes: ✹    “It was about 1986 when I gave up on pursuing songwriting/recording artist as my main work. I became a carpenter around 1978 as I had gotten married and had my first child on the way soon afterwards. I needed benefits which that job offered.”
Location: San Francisco, California
Album release: January 26, 2018
Record Label: Spacetalk
Duration:     68:57
01. Freely   4:21 
02. I’ll Be Ok Tomorrow   4:27 
03. To See One Eagle Fly   5:14 
04. I Believe That There’s Good In This World   3:20 
05. Dier Nier Nier Niernt   5:43 
06. Summer Days   4:26 
07. As The River Flows On   5:46 
08. I Will See You Again   2:57 
09. Beneath The Redwoods   4:33 
10. Sonshine   5:51 
11. Destination   5:58 
12. On Mt Diablo   3:45 
13. Seashell   4:08 
14. All My Life   3:24 
15. A Few Minutes of Peace   5:04
✹    …a collection of long~lost recordings from forgotten Californian duo Morrison Kincannon, rescued from the dusty tape archives of the pair’s lead songwriter, Norman Morrison…
✹    Spacetalk is proud to reveal its most exciting release to date: a collection of long~lost recordings from forgotten Californian duo Morrison Kincannon, rescued from the dusty tape archives of the pair’s lead songwriter, Norman Morrison
✹    With only a handful of sought~after private press 7” singles to their name, Morrison Kincannon are all but unknown outside record collecting circles. Yet Norman Morrison and Terry Kincannon wrote and recorded some superb songs during the 1970s and early ‘80s, desperately hoping for the break that would see them released on vinyl. Now, at last, their time has finally come. Morrison & Kincannon first started working together as teenagers almost 50 years ago. Every Saturday, they would get together to jam and write songs. This led to recording sessions at a friendly studio in San Francisco and a management and publishing deal with Manny Greenhill, a man who had previously nurtured the careers of Bob Dylan and Joan Baez. Sadly, their hoped~for~success never came, and by the early 1980s both members had re~focused on work and family. As the years rolled by, their original multi~track recordings lay idle in Morrison’s loft, seemingly never to be released.
✹    All that changed when Morrison received an email from Spacetalk Records two years ago, asking about the possibility of reissuing “To See One Eagle Fly”, the B~side to one of their 7” singles that has long been a favourite of label co~founder Danny McLewin. Once a deal had been done, Morrison mentioned that he had hours of unissued recordings in his loft; a treasure trove of ultra~rare multi~track master tapes that could be freshly mixed and mastered for release. When the Spacetalk Records’ team finally got a chance to listen, they were astonished by the timeless quality of the songs. Put simply, they just had to be released.
✹    The resultant album is a stunning set: an intoxicating glimpse into the world of two previously unheralded master songwriters whose musical vision encapsulates all that was good about Californian music during the late ‘60s and early ‘70s. Rooted in the American folk revival and folk~rock movement of the late ‘60s, the album’s 15 thoughtful, heartfelt songs are laden with sly nods to the likes of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Ned Doheny, Michael Deacon, Cy Timmons, Gene Clark and Buffalo Springfield. The tracks were recorded at various times between 1970 and ’82 and gives a small glimpse of the duo’s total body of unissued work. ✹      https://spacetalkmusic.bandcamp.com/album/beneath-the-redwoods
Label: http://spacetalkmusic.com/
Tim Murray: https://www.theransomnote.com/music/interviews/a-glorious-revival-morrison-kincannon-talk/

Morrison Kincannon — Beneath The Redwoods (Jan. 26, 2018)


6. 4. 2020


4. 4. 2020




Loveblind: Visions
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE