Patrick Watson — Wave (Oct. 18, 2019)                        Patrick Watson — Wave (Oct. 18, 2019) Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)
℘    Watsonovo šesté studiové album je o vlně, které vás převrátí, když si uvědomíte, že vše, co v životě máte, můžete během chvilky smazat — a pak se učíte, jak se v tomto procesu neutopit. Píseň je o tom, jak si někdy musíte zpívat milostnou píseň pro sebe, když ji nikdo jiný neudělá, zvuk vás nese a naučí víře, kde přistaneš. Je to velmi osobní a intimní a je to jeho nejskromnější, lépe řečeno nejpokornější ze všech jejich celovečeráčků.
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Album release: October 18, 2019
Record Label: Secret City Records
Duration:    37:34
01. Dream For Dreaming   3:40
02. The Wave   4:17
03. Strange Rain   2:59
04. Melody Noir   3:14
05. Broken   4:37
06. Turn Out The Lights   4:14
07. Wild Flower   3:40
08. Look At You   3:12
09. Drive   3:27
10. Here Comes the River   4:14
⦿    The new album from Canadian artist Patrick Watson, Wave, arrives via Secret City on October 18, 2019.
ℵ      Watson’s sixth studio album is about having a wave knock you over when you realize everything you have in life can be wiped away in a moment — and then learning how not to drown in the process. During the making of the album, Patrick lost his mother, his longtime drummer left the group, and he and his partner separated. Watson brought a notebook underneath the waves and composed tunes about melancholy while listening to the lonely hymns of mermaids. The songs are about how sometimes you have to sing a love song to yourself when no one else will, allowing the sound carry you and learning to trust where you will land. It is very personal and intimate, and it is the most humble of all their records.
℘    “It’s the difference between singing a solo at a stranger’s grave as a child and singing one at your own mother’s funeral.”
By Matt Yuyitung
Published Oct 16, 2019; Score: 8
♣   Stop me if you’ve heard this one before: a singer~songwriter struggles with personal loss and trauma, and then composes an emotionally cathartic record in response. From Plastic Ono Band to For Emma, Forever Ago to Carrie & Lowell, you could spend an afternoon listing records that fit this description. Wave is Patrick Watson’s entry into this canon, and here he has created a collection of  moments of catharsis that add up to a rich, emotionally fulfilling experience.
♣   During the record’s creation, Watson had to face losing his mother, separating from his partner and the departure of his long~time drummer. Faced with these personal losses, Watson „brought a notebook underneath the waves and composed tunes about melancholy while listening to the lonely hymns of mermaids,“ or so the press release goes.
♣   Despite that, nothing about this record shouts loneliness or isolation. If anything, songs like „The Wave“ or „Broken“ convey a more contemplative tone, one where Watson is trying to make sense of what’s around him. „Do you feel a little broken?“ he repeats on „Broken“ over a sparse piano line, as though he hopes the answer will come to him by the time the song is finished.
♣   Closer „Here Comes the River“ is probably the record’s best encapsulation of Wave’s themes, specifically the notion of trying to keep one’s head above the water. „Sometimes you’ve got to burn to keep the storm away,“ Watson sings with strings swelling around him. For Watson, this doesn’t sound like a record about loss, but instead he’s concerned about the steps he needs to take to move on. He’s as strong a songwriter as always, but it feels like there’s a deeper sense of purpose this time around, and it makes for a beautifully gratifying experience. (Secret City)