Ryuichi Sakamoto — async (28th April 2017)
Ryuichi Sakamoto sync                              Ryuichi Sakamoto — async (28th April 2017)   Ryuichi Sakamoto — async (28th April 2017) Born: 17th January 1952
↔★••→   Novinka obsahuje štrnásť skladieb, ktoré 65~ročný hudobník nahral v New Yorku. Vinylová edícia ponúka tú pätnástu, bonusovú skladbu. Fanúšikovia si budú môcť vypočuť piesne naživo práve teraz a po prvý raz na Big Ears Festivale, ktorý sa koná od 23. do 26. marca v Knoxville v Tennessee.
↔★••→   Ryuichi Sakamoto odštartoval kariéru v roku 1978 ako klávesák formácie Yellow Magic Orchestra, známej aj pod skratkou YMO, s ktorou vydal debutovú eponymnú nahrávku v roku 1978. Okrem toho uviedli na trh aj ďalšie veci ako napríklad “Solid State Survivor” (1979), “BGM” (1981), “Naughty Boys” (1983) či “Technodon” (1993).
↔★••→   Sakamoto získal Oscara, Zlatý glóbus a tiež Grammy ako spoluautor hudby k filmu Posledný cisár (1987). Spolu s Richardom Horowitzom si vyslúžil Zlatý glóbus aj za hudbu k snímke Nebo, čo nás chráni (1990). ↔★••→   The LP was conceived for “an Andrei Tarkovsky film that does not exist.”
↔★••→   Largely recorded in NYC, with some elements pulled from field recordings and museums around the world, async plays with “ideas of a~synchronism, prime numbers, chaos, quantum physics and the blurred lines of life and artificiality/noise and music,” according to the press release.
↔★••→   Sakamoto conceived the idea of writing a score for an Andrei Tarkovsky film “that does not exist” during the production process, while at the same time taking inspiration from “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature.”
↔★••→   “What kind of sounds/music do I want to listen to?”
↔★••→   2017’s async is the answer to this question that Ryuichi Sakamoto has asked himself for the past several years.
↔★••→   async synthesizes all of Sakamoto’s musical and sound interests and is a journey through analog synth chronicling the sounds of things and of places, an imaginary soundtrack to an Andrei Tarkovsky film, and many other musical surprises.
↔★••→   Double 180g vinyl version.
Additionally, Sakamoto will be performing at Park Avenue Armory Veterans Room in New York, on 25 and 26 April.
                                                                        Location: Tokyo, Japan
Album release: April 28th, 2017
Record Label: Milan Records
01. andata
02. disintegration
03. solari
04. ZURE
05. walker
06. stakra
07. ubi
08. fullmoon
09. async
10. tri
11. Life, Life
12. honj
13. ff
14. garden
15. water state 2 (vinyl only bonus track)                                                                         Review
↔★••→   Ryuichi Sakamoto unveils new album that will (finally!) explain life, love, noise, and quantum phsyics
by DAN SMART · March 15, 2017
↔★••→   Although the entire internet was well and truly rocked to its foundations a few months back by the triumphant return of Tokyo~born “composer, performer, producer, and environmentalist” Ryuichi Sakamoto to the hallows of original music~hood after an eight year hiatus and illness battle, it remained a mystery at the time as to precisely what FORM the experimental musician’s album~making~muse would take: 24~hour opera about a fictitious meeting between Claude Debussy and the Dalai Lama?? Lo~fi EP of live Rolling Stones covers???
↔★••→   But as of TODAY, all that (admittedly super~fun) speculation can cease, because Sakamoto has just announced that his new album is a 15~track affair titled async. It’s coming April 28 via Milan Records (with a March 29 release in Japan), and its concept stemmed from the creation of “a soundtrack for an Andrei Tarkovsky film that does not exist” (guess I wasn’t too far off).
↔★••→   Let’s just take that in first, shall we? Breathe…breathe…Now, are you at least half~ready for more of the details? Cuz here comes a bunch:
↔★••→   The album, which “plays with ideas of a~synchronism, prime numbers, chaos, quantum physics and the blurred lines of life and artificiality/noise and music,” was conceived and primarily recorded around New York City, while also folding~in various “field or location recordings” and elements from “museums around the world.” The pallet consists of the usual suspects of piano and orchestra, but also “a deep selection of unique acoustic and electric sounds both programmed and organic.”
↔★••→   Oh, but that’s not all: dollops of inspiration were also scooped from “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature,” with Sakamoto attempting to simply compose, arrange, and play with “the sounds/music that he most wanted to listen to” and to pay special attention to the “essence of each track,” as well as to the careful balancing of sounds “with a less~is~more perspective” until the resultant pieces represented “singular expressions of Sakamoto’s current mindset” comprising “one of his most personal albums.”
↔★••→   The worldwide premiere listening event will be held at this year’s Big Ears Festival in Knoxville, TN March 23~26, in glorious, 5.1 surround sound. Additionally, Sakamoto will also be appearing April 25~26 at New York’s Park Avenue Armory Veterans Room, just days before async’s release. ↔★••→   http://www.tinymixtapes.com/
Website: http://www.sitesakamoto.com/                                                                              
Ryuichi Sakamoto — async (28th April 2017)