Scott Matthews — What the Night Delivers (2011)

What The Night Delivers is the third album of British singer/songwriter Scott Matthews.

           Scott Matthews — What the Night Delivers
Born: 15th Jan 1976 in Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Location: Wolverhampton, England
Album release: September 5, 2011  // Recorded: Artisan, Birmingham, England
Record Label: San Remo
Runtime:    50:56
Genre: Acoustic / Blues / Folk Rock / Singer–Songwriter
01 Myself Again    5:15
02 Obsession Never Sleeps    4:42
03 Ballerina Lake    4:36
04 Bad Apple    4:59
05 So Long, My Moonlight    4:29
06 Head first into Paradise    5:23
07 Walking Home in the Rain    5:38
08 Echoes of the Lonely    4:06
09 The Man who had Everything    5:45
10 Piano Song    6:03     /// Personnel:

  • Scott Matthews — vocals, guitars, bass guitar, sitar, theremin, piano
  • Sam Martin — drums, percussio
  • Danny Keane — cello
  • Greg Stoddard — lap steel guitar
  • Danny Thompson — double bass
  • Jon Cotton — Hammond organ, piano, vibrophone
  • Elspeth Dutch — French horn 
  • Brass and string arrangements — Danny Keane
  • Produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by Jon Cotton

♠  Often compared to Jeff Buckley, Scott Matthews is an English singer/songwriter primarily influenced by folk and, to a lesser extent, blues — though he has also claimed the likes of the Beatles and Led Zeppelin as influences. Signed to Island Records, he released his first album, Passing Stranger, in 2006, and sophomore album Elsewhere in 2009. In 2010, as well as releasing the album ‘Live in London’, a complete show recorded at Shepherds Bush Empire, Scott spent time in the studio working on his third album What The Night Delivers, which includes a guest appearance from the legendary bass player Danny Thompson, whom Scott teamed up with in Joe Boyd’s live stage production of ‘Way To Blue: The Songs Of Nick Drake’.
Artist bio:
♠  Scott Matthews released his debut album “Passing Stranger” on the San Remo
label, through Island Records to widespread acclaim in Oct 2006.
♠  His three singles to date “Elusive”, ”Dream Song” and “Passing Stranger” have
been playlisted on Radio 1, Radio 2 and XFM.
♠  His celebrated performance on Later With Jools Holland, had Damon Albarn and Gary Lightbody from Snow Patrol among countless others, singing his praises.
♠  In 2007, Scott won the Ivor Novello Award for Best Song Musically and
Lyrically, with his debut single “Elusive”and in 2008, he supported Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, on their “Raising Sand” European tour.
Scott’s 2nd album, entitled “Elsewhere”, was released on May 25th 2009.
♠  “The most promising home–grown singer songwriter to emerge in years” Q magazine
♠  ‘He’s fantastic…an absolute genius’…………..… Janice Long, BBC Radio 2
♠  ‘Hypnotic and timeless’……….. The Guardian
♠  ‘Exceptionally good…an absolute blinder!’……… Mark Radcliffe, BBC Radio 2
♠  ‘Elusive has a beguiling, weightless grace’ ……… MOJO  


Press shots by scottmatthewsscottmatthewsScott, Danny Thompson and Sam Martin in Artisan 2010 by

                    Scott Matthews, Danny Thompson, Sam MartinThe legendary Danny Thompson    scottmatthews

The legendary Danny ThompsonScott and Danny Thompson    scottmatthews

                                Scott and Danny ThompsonMy Photos by

Scott Matthews — What the Night Delivers (2011)