Seabear — „In Another Life“ (April 1, 2022)

Iceland flag (Grunge)                                                               Seabear — „In Another Life“ (April 1, 2022)
↵  Sindri Már Sigfússon. Seabear se vrací s novým albem. Po 12leté přestávce — ‚poslední‘ LP kapely se datuje do roku 2010 — velmi oblíbený islandský kolektiv představuje „In Another Life“, fascinující sbírku písní, oscilující mezi indie~popem a klasickým materiálem od singer~songwriterů.
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Album release: April 1, 2022
Record Label: Morr Music
Duration:     36:29
01. Parade   2:59    
02. Running into a Wall   3:43    
03. Waterphone   4:18    
04. Talking in My Sleep   3:46    
05. We Could Do Everything   4:04    
06. Awkward Machine   1:50    
07. Weathergun   3:12    
08. Make It All Up   3:09    
09. I Can Always Tell   2:17    
10. Out of Time   3:36    
11. Oslo   3:35

In Another Life Review by Marcy Donelson. Score: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
↵  After Iceland’s Seabear released their second album, We Built a Fire, in 2010, bandleader Sindri Már Sigfússon switched focus to his solo project, Sin Fang. Meanwhile, other members, including Sóley Stefánsdóttir — better known as Sóley — likewise pursued solo careers, work with other bands, or other artistic endeavors (several of them are visual artists as well as musicians).
↵  With touring and other activities on hold due to the arrival of the COVID~19 pandemic, however, all seven members found the time to reunite Seabear for In Another Life, their first album in 12 years. Setting aside the more indie electronic~minded tendencies of Sin Fang and soft~spoken experimental pop of Sóley, it represents a wholehearted return to the often intricately textured blend of folk~rock and orchestrated indie pop the project had been known for.
↵  Opener “Parade” begins with overlapping finger~style guitar lines before launching into a breezy, softly shimmering reflection on mortality and music that layers piano, keys, acoustic guitars, strings, airy backing vocals, and Sigfússon’s equally gossamer lead over a sauntering rhythm section. They pick up the tempo and plug in guitars on “Running into a Wall,” which nonetheless opens on flute and weaves fiddle into its dream pop~adjacent arrangements. Horns comes into play on tracks including the twangy “Waterphone” and “Make It All Up,” which applies the band’s soundscapes to a late~’60s psychedelic pop. Tracks including “I Can Always Tell” take a more rustic approach (banjo, pedal steel) while still incorporating atmospheric synth sparkle. Warmly catchy throughout, In Another Life closes on the galloping folk~rock jam “Oslo,” which revisits the idea of legacies formed through relationships and music. On the whole, the unexpected third album shows a solid return to form for Seabear, despite the long recording hiatus.
SF: Seabear