Sigur Rós Valtari (2012)

Sigur Rós' New Album <i>Valtari</i> Out in May

 Sigur Rós — Valtari
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Album released: May 28, 2012
Producer: Sigur Rós and Alex Somers
Bassist Georg Hólm described the album as having "more electronic stuff than before" but not being "a dance album". The first single from the album, "Ekki Múkk", as well as an accompanying video, was released on the same day.
By Tyler Kane
Sigur Rós' New Album Valtari Out in May

UPDATE: Valtari’s second track, “Ekki Múkk
,” can now be streamed below.
As previously reported, Sigur Rós has been working on a new album that was expected for a spring release. Now, according to Q Magazine, the album is finished and is right on time with a May 28 release date. The album is the band’s follow up to 2008’s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust and is titled Valtari.
According to the band, the seven-track album is a more electronic-based release, but is not a “dance album.” In the interview with the magazine, the band offered a few descriptions of the album, which are about as helpful as you’d expect from a band that released an album titled ( ). Bassist Georg Hólm said the album is like “looking at an old landscape painting,” and frontman Jónsi said it was like “an avalanche in slow motion.”
You can check out the album’s tracklist below thanks to twentyfourbit.
Valtari Tracklist:
1. Ég Anda
2. Ekki Múkk   7:45
3. Varúð
4. Rembihnútur
5. Dauðalogn
6. Varðeldur
7. Valtari
Jón Þór “Jónsi” Birgisson – lead vocals, guitars, bowed guitar, keyboards, harmonica, banjo, bass guitar (since 1994)
Georg “Goggi” Hólm – bass guitar, glockenspiel, toy piano, backing vocals (since 1994)
Kjartan “Kjarri” Sveinsson – synthesizers, keyboards, piano, organs, programming, guitars, flute, tin whistle, oboe, banjo, backing vocals (since 1998)
Orri Páll Dýrason – drums, percussion, keyboards (since 1999)
Former members:
Ágúst Ævar Gunnarsson – drums, percussion (1994–1999)
Following up a stunning solo LP ( and film score (, Jónsi is back with the great Icelandic quartet Sigur Rós for a full-length successor to 2008′s Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust. Due out on May 28th and titled Valtari, the 7-track effort features “more electronic stuff than before,” bassist Georg Hólm told Q Magazine ( “But don’t worry,” he added, “we haven’t made a dance record.”
*Update: A new track is now streaming below.
Aside from track titles, the release date, and a few non-specific adjectives (“beautiful,” “dreamy,” “introverted,” etc.), Hólm and Jónsi offered their own differing images of what to expect:
Hólm:  “…this I’d compare to looking at an old landscape painting.”
Birgisson:  “…like an avalanche in slow motion.”
It sounds like — as with most of the Sigur Rós oeuvre — we’ll have another cinematic set left gloriously open to interpretation. While we wait, the pair shared these track titles for cuts recently mixed with co-producer Alex Somers below:

Sigur Rós Announce New Album © Photocredit: Lilja Birgisdottir © Performing in Reykjavík, 2005

Jón “Jónsi” Þór Birgisson
Born: April 23, 1975
Origin: Iceland
Genres: Post-rock, ambient, baroque pop, World fusion
Instruments: Guitar, bass, vocals, synthesizer, organ, piano, harmonium, mellotron, banjo, ukelele, harmonica  // Notable instruments: Gibson Les Paul 
No Campo Pequeno, November 11, 2008 (23:15:17) / Author: José Goulão
Q Awards 2011


Sigur Rós Valtari (2012)