Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Son Lux

Son Lux — Bones (June 23, 2015)

                             Son Lux — Bones Son Lux — Bones (June 23, 2015)  Δ    Expect an artistic masterpiece. Change Is Everything. Described as “a call to action, a document of personal and collective uprising”, ‘Bones’ is Son Lux’s fourth album since producer–composer Ryan Lott started working under the name in 2007. Having recently evolved into a three–piece with guitarist–composer Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang, ‘Bones’ comes after what you might typically describe as a whirlwind couple of years that have seen Lott work with Lorde, Boots, Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Busdriver and more.
Birth name: Ryan Lott
Born: 1979 in Denver, CO
Location: New York, New York & LA, CA, United States
Album release: June 23rd, 2015
Catalog: GN17402CD
Duration:       39:21 
01.  Breathe In     0:52
02.  Change Is Everything     3:05
03.  Flight     3:21
04.  You Don't Know Me     3:41
05.  This Time     3:51
06.  I Am The Others     4:45
07.  Your Day Will Come     3:22
08.  Undone     4:21
09.  White Lies     4:58
10.  Now I Want     4:03
11.  Breathe Out     3:02
℗ 2015 Glassnote Entertainment Group LLC
Group Members: Ryan Lott; Ian Chang; Rafiq Bhatia                            
Δ   By now, I’ve already heaped endless praise on Son Lux’s debut album Lantern countless times. The incredibly talented and brilliant symphonic pop artist is releasing a sophomore album soon, and my expectations are sky high. New song You Don’t Know Me proves to me that I haven’t set the bar too high. Along with his usual cinematic flourishes and instrumental intricacies, Ryan Lott also brings an increased level of experimental, menacing intensity to the haunting track. Simmering, sultry strings and jarring percussion round out the song’s spectacularly turbulent composition. You Don’t Know Me is dark and stormy, seductive and dangerous. Son Lux’s new album, Bones, will be out June 23rd on Glassnote Records. Expect an artistic masterpiece.
Δ   Founded by producer–composer Ryan Lott in 2007, Son Lux “works at the nexus of several rarely–overlapping Venn Diagrams” (Pitchfork). With the recent additions to the band of guitarist–composer Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang, Son Lux is now a ferocious trio both live and on record. Bones is the first album documenting this new formation, and it draws from the three members’ unique and omnivorous musical vernaculars.
Δ   With Bones, the trio has meticulously woven together dizzying percussion, fraying guitar, symphonic bluster, and haunting vocals into a quaking and vivid post–pop (post–everything) burst. The fourth Son Lux LP combines all of the architectural precision and aural inventiveness we've come to expect, with more immediacy and melody than ever.
Δ   Few bands have built a more impressive and varied array of collaborators: Lorde, Beyoncé producer Boots, Sufjan Stevens, Matthew Dear, Busdriver, Vijay Iyer, Nico Muhly and Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw.
Artist Biography by Marisa Brown
Δ   Son Lux is a post–rock project helmed by Ryan Lott with releases on Anticon and Joyful Noise. The youngest of three children, Lott spent much of his childhood moving from place to place. Born in Colorado in 1979, he lived in California and Connecticut before landing in Atlanta for high school. He had been playing classical piano since age six; he also played the guitar, and in Georgia he picked up the drums and began learning pop and jazz piano as well. While studying composition and piano at Indiana University, Lott first explored writing for dance choreography. He continued in that vein not only after graduation when he was living in Cleveland — where, as the recipient of an arts grant, he was able to spend time working on his own music and its interaction with other media — but also after he moved to New York City in 2007 for a job as a composer at an ad agency. There he continued his collaborations with the Gina Gibney Dance Company, an all–female modern dance group.
Δ   During this same time Lott also decided to pursue his solo work, using tiny samples and his own voice to make ethereal, nocturnal music that drew both from hip–hop rhythms and experimental rock and electronica arrangements, and decided to call himself Son Lux. He won a songwriting competition that gave him the opportunity to perform (for the first time under his new moniker) at the Festival of Faith & Music in Grand Rapids, Michigan, opening for artists like Emmylou Harris and Sufjan Stevens, and soon he was playing in New York City and remixing songs by artists like Beirut and Castanets. Signed to Anticon, Son Lux released his debut album, At War with Walls and Mazes, in March of 2008. For his second album, Lott had to completely upend his normally slow and careful creative process after being invited to participate in the 2011 RPM Challenge, in which musicians attempt to completely write and record an album in the month of February. This was a major change for him, as At War with Walls and Mazes took four years to create, but Lott stepped up to the challenge, releasing We Are Rising in 2011. Two years later, Lott returned with the third Son Lux studio album, Lanterns. In 2014, Lott appeared on the album Sisyphus, a collaboration with Sufjan Stevens, and Serengeti; he released an EP, Alternate Worlds, featuring contributions from New Zealand singer/songwriter Lorde.
MySpace: https://myspace.com/sonlux
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sonlux
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/search/son+lux+bones
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/son-lux
Website: http://music.sonluxmusic.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sonlux
Label: http://glassnotemusic.com/
•   At War with Walls & Mazes (Anticon, 2008)
•   We Are Rising (Anticon, 2011)
•   We Are Rising: REMIXED (Self–released, 2012)
•   Lanterns (Joyful Noise, 2013)
•   Sisyphus (Asthmatic Kitty/Joyful Noise, 2014) (with Serengeti & Sufjan Stevens, as Sisyphus)
•   Bones (Glassnote, 2015)
•   Weapons (Anticon, 2010)
•   Beak & Claw (Anticon, 2012) (with Serengeti & Sufjan Stevens, as S / S / S)
•   Alternate Worlds (Joyful Noise, 2014)
•   Tear (7", Joyful Noise Recordings 2013)
•   Black Waters (flexi–disc series, Joyful Noise Recordings 2013. Black Waters is based on a tune of the same name by American folk singer Jean Ritchie)

Son Lux



6. 4. 2020


4. 4. 2020




Sonny Landreth — Elemental Journey (May 22, 2012)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE