Son Lux — Learning Structures vol. 1~4 (Oct. 11th, 2019)  USA FLAG                                                                           Son Lux — Learning Structures vol. 1~4 (Oct. 11th, 2019)                                                                                                              ✹    Son Lux is the grand genre~less dream of Los Angeles composer Ryan Lott brought to roiling, vivid life with the help of two New Yorkers, guitarist Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang. Each is a writer, producer, and performer with omnivorous taste and a penchant for wild improvisation.Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)Birth name: Ryan Lott
Born: 1979 in Denver, CO
Location: New York, New York & LA, CA, United States
Genre: Electronic, Hip Hop, Experimental, Avant~garde
Album release: October 11, 2019
Record Label: This Is Meru
Duration:     12:57
1. ember protocol   2:58
2. tuned mass   3:29
3. stutter apertures   3:46 
4. inversion myth   2:44
⊗⇑⊗    ‘learning structures’ is a collection of works currently focused on Ryan Lott’s commissions and collaborations with various choreographers and modern dance ensembles. Ethereal, free~flowing music made for movement, Lott’s richly textural instrumental compositions blur the line between electro~acoustic instrumentation and innovative electronic experimentation. The compelling dance pieces in this collection span from 2006~2018 and will be introduced as learning structures vol. 1~4 on October 11th, 2019. The ongoing series will continue with further volumes through 2020.
⊗⇑⊗    ‘assorted machines’ is this installment’s fourth volume containing pieces from various works, composed between 2007 and 2017, for choreographers Gina Gibney and Stephen Petronio. „Stejně jako děti, trávící polední přestávky u jezírka, zírají na své zkreslené odrazy na vodě a smějí se, jak monstrózní mohou vypadat, zvlněné plátno, inspirované vlnkami namaluje jejich podivnou tvář.“
⊗⇑⊗    Cover art is a photo of installation by artist Lauren Zoll, entitled ‘The Look of Vision’ (2015).
• artwork by Joshue Ott, Zack Bent, Zach McNair, and Lauren Zoll, respectively •Learning structures, vol. 3  distance between us
learning structures, vol. 3: distance between us
Duration:     19:18
1. particulate   5:54
2. flexion of grace   4:56 
3. jittering cry   3:14
4. uneven geography   5:14
★•    ‘distance between us’ is the third volume which are selections from a longer work for a dance of the same title, commissioned by Gibney Dance in 2007. 
★•    Artwork by Zach McNairlearning structures, vol. 2  end firma (Oct. 11, 2019)
learning structures, vol. 2: end firma
Duration:     21:51
1. wintermute   1:01
2. a patient witness   4:57
3. tether shift   5:54
4. sower and seed   5:53
5. possibility bells   4:06 
★•    ‘end firma’ is the second volume — the works included date from late 2010, with the exception of “wintermute,” which Lott composed in 2012. 
★•    Artwork by Zack Bentlearning structures, vol. 1  view partially obstructed (January 27, 2017)
learning structures, vol. 1: view partially obstructed
Duration:     22:15
1. shudder and whisper   2:42 
2. hope calculus   5:31 
3. gradual wind   4:55 
4. slow lie   2:46 
5. breathing cycle   3:34 
6. cherry blossom   2:47
★•    ‘learning structures, vol. 1: view partially obstructed’ is a collection of music from 2009 by composer Ryan Lott, founder of genre~defying band Son Lux. Originally commissioned by Gibney Dance, the original evening~length work of the same name was choreographed by Gina Gibney and included an ensemble of five dancers and live projected visuals by Joshue Ott using his superDraw software. It premiered in October of 2009 in New York City at Baryshnikov Arts Center. Lott’s score incorporates evocative fragments of voice, field recordings, pianos, stringed instruments and organized noise.
★•    Artwork by Joshue Ott