Stereolab — „Mars Audiac Quintet“ (Expanded Edition) (May 3, 2019)

FRANCE FLAGIRELAND FLAGUK FLAG                   Stereolab — „Mars Audiac Quintet“ (Expanded Edition) (May 3, 2019)
•  Po 25 letech se retro~popová a indie~rocková klasika „Mars Audiac Quintet“ od Stereolabu vrací do oběhu s bonusovými disky s ukázkami a alternativními verzemi, zejména s demo verzí Ping Pong! Původní stopáž alba činila 66:57, teď je obohacena na 16:36min. Mars Audiac Quintet je třetí album od Stereolabu. Bylo vydáno v srpnu 1994 společností Elektra Records & Duophonic Records. Na albu vystupují Lætitia Sadier, Tim Gane, Duncan Brown, Katharine Gifford, Mary Hansen, Sean O’Hagan a Andy Ramsay jako Stereolab s dalšími příspěvky od Alana Cartera, Very Daucher, Lindsay Low a Andy Robinsona. Černý vinyl 3LP uložený v zakázkové brašně uvnitř těžké průhledné PVC jakési peněženky (plastikového ochranného obalu navíc). K dnešnímu dni hodnotilo album 347 lidí s průmerem  ★★★★½. Úctyhodné.  
Location: London, UK
Album release: May 3, 2019
Record Label: Elektra Records & Duophonic Records
Duration:     106:36
01. Three~Dee Melodie   5:09
02. Wow And Flutter   3:10 
03. Transona Five   6:22 
04. Des Etoiles Electroniques   4:02 
05. Ping Pong   3:04 
06. Anamorphose   7:32 
07. Three Longers Later   3:43 
08. Nihilist Assault Group   6:56 
09. International Colouring Contest   3:56 
10. The Stars Our Destination   3:58 
11. Transporte Sans Bouger   4:22 
12. L’Enfer Des Formes   3:55 
13. Outer Accelerator   5:20 
14. New Orthophony   4:35
15. Fiery Yellow   4:11
16. Ulan Bator   2:21 
17. Klang Tone   5:39 
18. Melochord Seventy~Five [Original Pulse Version]   5:32 
19. Outer Accelerator — [Original Mix]   6:06 
20. Nihilist assault Group — Part 6   2:13 
21. Wow and Flutter [7”/EP Version — Alternative Mix]   3:07 
22. Des Etoile Electroniques — Demo   1:26 
23. Ping Pong — Demo   2:56 
24. The Stars Our Destination — Demo   1:19 
25. Three Longers Later — Demo   2:05 
26. Transona Five — Demo   1:30 
27. Transporté Sans Bouger — Demo   2:09
•  Black vinyl
•  Remastered from original tapes
•  Bonus disk of unreleased demos, outtakes and alternate mixes
•  Co~released by band’s own label Duophonic UHF Disks and Warp Records
•  Fold~out poster insert with lyrics and sleevenotes from Læetitia Sadier and Tim Gane
•  Vinyl comes in bespoke gatefold sleeve housed inside a heavyweight clear PVC wallet
•  Duncan Brown    Bass
•  Alan Carter    Flute, Sax (Tenor)
•  Vera Daucher    Violin
•  Tim Gane    Bass, Composer, Farfisa Organ, Guitar, Moog Bass, Moog Synthesizer, Organ, Vox Organ
•  Katharine Gifford    Farfisa Organ, Moog Bass, Moog Synthesizer, Organ, Vocals (Background), Vox Organ
•  Mary Hansen    Guitar, Tambourine, Vocals
•  Lindsay Law    Trumpet
•  Peter Morris    Photography
•  Sean O’Hagan    Brass Arrangement, Guitar, Marimba, Percussion, Slide Guitar
•  Andy Ramsay    Drums, Percussion
•  Andy Robinson    Trombone
•  Steve Rooke    Mastering
•  Læetitia Sadier    Composer, Guitar, Organ, Tambourine, Vocals
•  Paul Tipler    Engineer, Mixing
•  Nick Webb    Mastering
AllMusic Review by Heather Phares Score: ★★★★½ 
•ƒ•  By the time of 1994’s Mars Audiac Quintet, Stereolab had already highlighted the rock and experimental sides of its music; now the band concentrated on perfecting its space~age pop. Sweetly bouncy songs like “Ping Pong” and “L’ Enfer des Formes” streamline the band’s sound without sacrificing its essence; track for track, this may be the group’s most accessible, tightly written album. The groove~driven “Outer Accelerator,” “Wow and Flutter,” and “Transona Five” (which sounds strangely like Canned Heat’s “Goin’ Up the Country”) reaffirm Stereolab’s Krautrock roots, but the band’s sweet synth melodies and vocal arrangements give it a pop patina. Even extended pieces like “Anamorphose” and “Nihilist Assault Group” — which could have appeared on Transient Random Noise~Bursts With Announcements if they had a rawer production — are more sensual and voluptuous than edgy and challenging. It’s equally apparent on layered, complex songs such as “New Orthophony” and “The Stars Our Destination,” as well as spare, minimal tracks like “Des Etoiles Electroniques,” that the members of Stereolab focused their experimental energies on production tricks, vocal interplay, and increasingly electronic~based arrangements. The charming final track “Fiery Yellow” takes the band’s fondness for lounge pop and experimentation to the limit; a delicate, marimba~driven piece featuring the High Llamas’ Sean O’Hagan, it sounds like the kind of music Esquivel or Martin Denny would be proud to make in the ‘90s. While it’s not as overtly innovative as some of Stereolab’s earlier albums, Mars Audiac Quintet is an enjoyable, accessible forerunner to the intricate, cerebral direction the group’s music would take in the mid~ and late ‘90s.