The Schramms — Omnidirectional (June 21st, 2019)             The Schramms — Omnidirectional (June 21st, 2019) Pamela MÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃéndez ÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃÃâ Time (22 Feb 2019)•     Dave Schramm, born and raised on Long Island, New York, is an American musician best known for his stint as the lead guitarist for Yo La Tengo during the band’s early years.
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Album release: June 21st, 2019
Record Label: Bar/None label
Duration:     48:35
01 Honestly Now   6:36
02 Spent   4:30
03 In Error   4:17
04 Faith Is A Dusty Word   3:28
05 Good Youth   4:05
06 Not Calling   3:12
07 Hearts And Diamonds   3:51
08 New England   4:55
09 Still Standing Still   3:38
10 Won’t Fall Down   2:47
11 The Day When   4:11
12 Two A.M. Slant   3:05
•   Dave Schramm — Guitar, Vocals, Songs
•   Ron Metz — Drums, Percussion
•   Al Greller — Bass
by Glide, June 14, 2019
•   Dave Schramm is perhaps best known as an original member and lead guitarist for Yo La Tengo, but over the years has worked with a wide assortment of notable artists from the Replacements to Richard Buckner and all points in between. In recent years, he created the Radio Free Song Club with singer / songwriter Kate Jacobs and disc jockey Nicholas Hill, a successful radio show / podcast showcasing a group of songwriting heavyweights that’s included Victoria Williams, Peter Holsapple, Freedy Johnston, Laura Cantrell, Robin Holcomb, Howe Gelb, Peter Blegvad, Jody Harris, Don Piper, Amy Allison, Amy Rigby and Wreckless Eric.
•   Schramm and Ron Metz had been playing with cult faves Akron, OH’s The Human Switchboard before Dave fell in with guitarist Ira Kaplan and drummer Georgia Hubley, joining Yo La Tengo for their debut album, Ride the Tiger, and the recordings that preceded it. He would re~unite with the band along with Greller on their much~beloved 1990 release Fakebook as well as its 2015 sequel Stuff Like That There.
•   After the release of Ride the Tiger, and a subsequent tour, Schramm struck out on his own, reuniting with Metz who’d recently arrived in New York. At their first gig, they billed themselves “The Schramms” as a joke, but the name stuck! There were several early line~ups, some including other Yo La Tengo alumni, with personnel shifting even as work started on their first album, Walk to Delphi. The Tall Lonesome Pines’ Al Greller joined as bassist and has been with the band ever since.
•   Omnidirectional is the seventh album from The Schramms, a beautiful work of art that was ten long years in the making. Frontman / guitarist / writer Dave Schramm has painstakingly assembled an expansive, cinescopic work that will delight long~time fans and new listeners alike. The album features drummer Ron Metz and bassist Al Greller who’ve played together with Dave in The Schramms since the 1980s, with JD Foster (Lucinda Williams, Richard Buckner, Calexico, Marc Ribot) producing. —
•   Today Glide is excited to offer an exclusive early listen to Omnidirectional. Though the album wound up being recorded in sporadic bursts over the course of a decade, the end results reveal a labor of love for all involved and well worth the wait. Beginning with the eerie, moody opener “Honestly Now”, the album is an expansive work of the kind of creative musical sounds that have strangely become a signature for a handful of indie rock bands from New Jersey. Bringing to mind Radiohead, Yo La Tengo, and darkly emotional college rock of the early 90s, the album takes listeners on a complex journey. There are layers of sound and plenty of experimentation, and yet for all its artsiness each song is beautifully melodic. Throughout listening, it’s clear that The Schramms engage in an intensely creative process when putting together songs, and even after so many years they still are excited to create music that sounds genuinely different than anything else out there. 
About The Schramms:
•     Melding pop, folk~rock, and alt~country sounds with quirky wit and a keen intelligence, the Schramms were the brainchild of gifted guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter Dave Schramm, who debuted the group in 1987. Schramm, who had previously played with Human Switchboard and Jon Klages, left Yo La Tengo in 1986, following the release of their debut album, Ride the Tiger, and he soon began working up material with fellow Human Switchboard alumnus Ron Metz and drums and bassist Terry Karydes, who had played in an embryonic version of Yo La Tengo. After Karydes’ bass was stolen, she moved over to keyboards, and Mike Lewis, another former member of Yo La Tengo, took over on bass, with guitarist Todd Novak and sax player Pete Linzell filling out the lineup. The band dubbed themselves the Walking Wounded and lined up a short tour only to discover a group in California was already using that name; as a joke, the band billed themselves as the Schramms for the duration of the tour, only to discover the name stuck. They opted to keep the moniker. The pocket~sized independent label OKra Records invited the Schramms to record an album, and they released Walk to Delphi in 1989. However, OKra’s distributor, Rough Trade, went out of business a matter of weeks after the album came out, effectively stalling its release in the States. To the band’s good fortune, the Schramms developed a strong following in Germany, and the European label Normal Records signed on to release the second Schramms album, Rock, Paper, Scissors, Dynamite, in 1992. By this time, Lewis, Novak, and Linzell had bowed out of the band; Al Greller signed on as the new bassist, and Schramm opted to go on without a sax or second guitarist. In 1993, Karydes also left the band, with George Usher taking over on keyboards; this edition of the Schramms recorded two albums, 1994’s Little Apocalypse and 1996’s Dizzy Spell. (Little Apocalypse was released in the United States by East Side Digital, who the following year reissued Walk to Delphi and gave Rock, Paper, Scissors, Dynamite its belated American debut; Dizzy Spell was distributed by the fledgling alt~country label Checkered Past.) In 2000, the Schramms returned to the recording studio with another new lineup — Andy Burton joined as keyboard player after the departure of Usher, and a second guitarist, Jon Graboff, who had often guested with the group, signed on full~time. 100 Questions was the Schramms’s first album which was not self~produced; J.D. Foster oversaw the sessions, and Syd Straw, Richard Buckner, and Jeb Loy Nichols contributed guest vocals. ~ Mark Deming