Thurston Moore — „screen time“ (Feb. 5, 2021)

UK FLAG                                                                                  Thurston Moore — „screen time“ (Feb. 5, 2021)
Ξ  Thurston Moore vydal překvapivé instrumentální album Screen Time, které je k dispozici na Bandcampu. Bývalý člen Sonic Youth oznámil projekt s několika detaily a minimálními fanfárami a na Twitteru napsal „Thurston Moore new music’screen time (10 písní).“ (Zástupce společnosti Moore okamžitě nevrátil žádost o další informace.) Screen Time následuje album By The Fire (Sept. 25, 2020). Moore nahrál LP s Deb Googem (My Bloody Valentine) na basu a doprovodných vokálech, Steve Shelleym ze Sonic Youth a Jem Doultonem na bicí, James Sedwardsem na kytaru a Jonem Leideckerem (také znám jako „Wobbly“ z Negativland) na elektronice. Na albu jsou také texty napsané londýnským básníkem Radieux Radio. V loňském roce vydal Moore intimní cover „Another Day“ Galaxie 500 jako součást tributního seriálu na oslavu reissue jejich živého LP z Kodaně. Moore také loni v červnu sdílel jednorázový instrumentální nástroj „Strawberry Moon“. V nedávném rozhovoru pro Black Book Moore hovořil o politice Yoko Ono a radikalizaci jeho 26leté dcery. Viz tag.Thurston Moore in conversation on the Fender Next stage during the Great Escape Festival at Old Market on May 11, 2019 in Brighton, England. ©Tabatha Fireman

Born: 25 July 1958 in Coral Gables, FL ~ Bethel, CT
Location: London, UK
Album release: February 5, 2021
Record Label: Daydream Library Series
Duration:     40:20
01. the station   2:44
02. the town   4:13
03. the home   5:06
04. the view   4:14
05. the neighbor   1:47
06. the upstairs   4:04
07. the dream   4:13
08. the walk   2:44
09. the parkbench   2:19
10. the realization   8:56
Ξ  Thurston Moore has followed up his sixth studio album, By The Fire, with the release of a surprise instrumental album, titled screen time.
Ξ  After first announcing the unexpected new album on Twitter, the former Sonic Youth member later revealed that the collection itself is a commentary on society and the value of art.
Ξ  Said Moore: “While our societies have become wholly engaged with the virtual universe of online interaction the work of filmmakers, musicians, painters, poets and dancers continues to offer dreamworld expressions of both reality and the imagination. Screen time is now time, it is always time for change. A change for the better. What better time than now. Create, instigate, debate, never hate, sleep late, embrace fate, make a movie date, destroy and skate.”
Ξ  The album is composed of 10 ambient, instrumental pieces, and released a mere five months after the prolific guitar player and all~round musician dropped his most recent album, By The Fire, which was met with critical acclaim.
Ξ  Moore recently spoke to Guitar World about his songwriting approach, stating, “Writing music is about stepping away from the ego and creating something that’s selfless.”
Ξ  He also spoke of his effective barebones process, revealing that “a lot of the writing comes from the tradition of literally sitting down with an acoustic guitar or an electric six~string or 12~string guitar. I’ll gravitate towards the one I’m feeling a kind of calling from, pick it up and get it in tune to one of the tunings it deploys and I just start writing.”
By Alexandra Weiss  Published: January 22, 2021: