Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Tift Merritt Stich of the World

Tift Merritt — Stich of the World (January 27, 2017)

                                                             TIFT MERRITT TIFT MERRITT? Nominated album for Overseas.
Tift Merritt — Stich of the World (January 27, 2017)
Tift Merritt — Traveling Alone (October 2, 2012)
•••   Gifted singer and superb songwriter as well as a skillful guitarist, with influences from all over Americana.
Birth name: Catherine Tift Merritt
Born: January 8, 1975, Houston, Texas
Location: New York City, NY
Genre: Americana, Folk
Instruments: Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards, Piano, Harmonica
Album release: September 17, 2012
Record Label: Yep Roc Records
Duration:     44:09
Album release:
01 Traveling Alone     4:45
02 Sweet Spot     2:50
03 Drifted Apart     3:34
04 Still Not Home     3:48
05 Feeling of Beauty     4:01
06 Too Soon to Go     4:35
07 Small Talk Relations     3:23
08 Spring     4:21
09 To Myself     3:34
10 In the Way     3:35
11 Marks     5:44
© 2012 Train Penny Publishing
•   Andrew Bird Violin, Vocals
•   Jay Brown Bass, Harmony
•   Rob Burger Accordion, Mellotron, Piano, Wurlitzer
•   John Convertino Drums, Percussion
•   Parker Fitzgerald Photography
•   Ryan Freeland Mastering, Mixing
•   Eric Heywood Banjo, Guitar, Lap Steel Guitar, Pedal Steel
•   Clarice Jensen Cello
•   Tucker Martine Engineer, Producer
•   Tift Merritt Composer, Guitar (Acoustic), Piano, Vocals
•   Rob Moose String Arrangements, Violin
•   Don Piper Assistant
•   Marc Ribot Guitar, Marxophone, Ukulele
•   Tony Scherr Bass (Upright)
•   Nadia Sirota Viola
•   Alex Venguer Engineer
•   Noel Waggner Package Design
•   Y Music Strings Featured Artist, Strings
AllMusic Review by Mark Deming;  Score: ****½
•   If Tift Merritt’s body of work so far has shown anything, it’s that she seems incapable of making an uninteresting or emotionally dishonest record, and she can work in a number of different ways and still sound like herself. Traveling Alone, Merritt’s fifth studio album, was recorded in Brooklyn with producer Tucker Martine, and for these sessions, Merritt and her studio band cut the bulk of the material live in the studio, with a group of stellar accompanists including Marc Ribot on guitar, John Convertino on percussion, Eric Heywood on pedal steel, and Jay Brown on bass. The close interaction of the musicians is a large part of the sound of Traveling Alone — hearing them kick into gear in the intro to "Still Not Home" is a thrill — but despite having a band of top–flight players behind her, Merritt is very much the focus of Traveling Alone throughout, and she’s in typically excellent form. The title cut is a bittersweet meditation on the joys of solitude, and much of Traveling Alone concerns itself with freedom and following one’s own path, for better ("To Myself") or for worse ("Still Not Home"), and Merritt's lyrics are eloquent with an artful touch that doesn’t compromise their sincerity and direct focus, while her strong but elegant melodies are a fine match. As a vocalist, Merritt continues to go from strength to strength, and the purity of her instrument and the intelligence of her phrasing, as well her sure–footed musical instincts, suggest she’s maturing into the Emmylou Harris of her generation. And with guest vocalist Andrew Bird doing his best Roy Orbison impression alongside Merritt's lead, “Drifted Apart” is the best ballad of broken hearts to appear so far in 2012. Traveling Alone feels more spontaneous and immediate than most of Tift Merritt’s previous work, but it’s no less beautiful or affecting for it, and it offers further evidence that Merritt is as good a singer/songwriter as anyone working the form these days. [Yep Roc Records released a deluxe expanded edition of Traveling Alone in the fall of 2013 that included an illustrated hardbound lyric book and a bonus disc of acoustic performances.]

Tift Merritt Stich of the World


27. 5. 2020

Sixth June

26. 5. 2020

Victory Amplification

26. 5. 2020

Cermaque — Lament



Peel Dream Magazine — Agitprop Alterna (3rd April 2020)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE