Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Úvodní stránka » RECORDS » RECORDS III » Trupa Trupa
Trupa Trupa Jolly New Songs
Blue Tapes and X~Ray Records 27 October 2017

Trupa Trupa — Jolly New Songs (27 October 2017)

        Trupa Trupa — Jolly New Songs (27 October 2017)Trupa Trupa — Jolly New Songs (27 October 2017)Location: Gdańsk, Poland
Album release: 27 October/8 Dec. 2017
Record Label: Blue Tapes and X~Ray Records
Duration:     49:26
01 Against Breaking Heart of a Breaking Heart Beauty     4:03  
02 Coffin     4:29  
03 Falling     2:48  
04 Mist     3:55  
05 Jolly New Song     4:49  
06 Leave It All     7:43  
07 Love Supreme     3:38  
08 Never Forget     4:27  
09 None of Us     4:06  
10 Only Good Weather     5:43  
11 To Me     3:45
℗ 2016 Trupa Trupa
By Ian King / 24 OCTOBER 2017, 11:15 BST / Score: 8
”“★λ★”“     To ingest Trupa Trupa’s Jolly New Songs is to wonder what kind of mushrooms are growing outside behind the band’s practice space in Gdansk. The drugs are working, just not quite how you would expected them to.
”“★λ★”“     In addition to the group, singer/guitarist Grzegorz Kwiatkowski is also a recognized poet in Poland, and that goes at least part of the way toward explaining how the abstract minimalism of his lyrics functions. Entire disturbing dreams are communicated in his spare sentences, as on “Coffin”: “Lying with you/Without a move / The coffin so smooth.” Trees are red, trees are burning. Lives are lived internally while the forests are aflame. It’s not a joke but you have to laugh for lack of a better choice.
”“★λ★”“     There is no irony in the album’s title, either. These songs are as jolly as they are new, it’s only the meaning of ‘jolly’ that needs a new interpretation. On their 2015 album, Headache, Kwiatkowski, drummer Tomek Pawluczuk, bassist/vocalist Wojtek Juchniewicz and keyboardist/guitarist Rafał Wojczal wrote their own melodic arithmetic out of chords and motifs that on paper might not otherwise seem to add up. Here they go one further by reconfiguring emotional states. Awoken from its blissful death dream, “Coffin” sits up, takes a quiet breath, and explodes in classic post~rock euphoria.
”“★λ★”“     Jolly New Songs is barrel~chested but nimble, all lumberitng menace one minute and tiptoeing restraint the next. “Against Breaking Heart of a Breaking Beauty” creates a cavernous din with a few symbiotic parts, anchored in distortion and aloft in reverb. At times, Trupa Trupa drill down in the murky expanse between Radiohead’s “We Suck Young Blood” and Mogwai’s Young Team, notably in the closing trio, as the stoic march of “None of Us” steps onto the skipping record carnival ride “Only Good Weather” and the walls collapse on “To Me.” Still, Jolly New Songs is not built on debt or reference (even the Coltrane~citing “Love Supreme”) but the persistence of their stark yet malleable vision.
”“★λ★”“     https://www.thelineofbestfit.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/trupatrupaband
Bandcamp: https://trupatrupa.bandcamp.com/album/jolly-new-songs
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/trupatrupa
Website: http://www.trupatrupa.com/
About Trupa Trupa
 ”“★λ★”“     Poland’s Trupa Trupa (whose name roughly translates to “Corpse Corpse”) mix post~rock, psych~rock, indie, and motorik influences in their experimental music. Formed in Gdansk in 2009, the band features acclaimed poet Grzegorz Kwiatkowski on vocals and guitars, vocalist/guitarist Wojtek Juchniewicz, keyboardist/guitarist Rafał Wojczal, and drummer Tomek Pawluczuk. Juchniewicz and Pawluczuk were both students at the city’s Academy of Fine Arts, while Kwiatkowski studied philosophy at the University of Gdansk. The band self~released early efforts included 2010’s EP, 2011’s LP, and 2013’s cabaret~tinged ++, which earned Trupa Trupa the most acclaim of their career to date. Along with winning the band its second Storm of the Year cultural award from the newspaper Gazeta Wyborcza, ++ also piqued the interest of Blue Tapes label founder David McNamee, who offered to release Trupa Trupa’s next album. For 2015’s more overtly psychedelic Headache, the group worked with producer Michał Kupicz. The album was nominated for the Polish equivalent of the Mercury Prize and was issued on vinyl by Ici d’Ailleurs in 2016. The following year’s Jolly New Songs (which was co~released by Blue Tapes, X~Ray Records, and Ici d’Ailleurs) drew comparisons to Mercury Rev, My Bloody Valentine, Syd Barrett, and Can. ~ Heather Phares
 ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”“★λ★”“ ”★ 

Trupa Trupa Jolly New Songs
Blue Tapes and X~Ray Records 27 October 2017


4. 4. 2020


3. 4. 2020

Andrew Swainson



Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE