tUnE~yArDs — Nikki Nack (2014)

 tUnE-yArDs — Nikki Nack (May 5th, 2014)

USA Flag tUnE~yArDs — Nikki Nack

  Assez décevant, je préférais les précédents...
  The album follows W H O K I L L, winner of a prestigious Village Voice award, in similar fashion, with Merrill Garbus’ strong, brassy vocals combined with a blend of experimental, indie, and folk music. Prior to the release of the record, a video appeared on YouTube featuring a collage of tracks that appear on the album.
Born: 1979 in New England and was raised in New York and in New Canaan, Connecticut.
Origin: Connecticut, United States
Genres: Worldbeat, indie pop, lo–fi, folk, Afrobeat, experimental pop, R&B
Album release: May 5/May 6 (US), 2014
Record Label: 4AD
Duration:     44:55
01 Find a New Way     3:29
02 Water Fountain     3:09
03 Time of Dark     4:35
04 Real Thing     3:28
05 Look Around     4:28
06 Hey Life     3:39
07 Sink–O     3:18
08  Why Do We Dine On the Tots?     1:29
09 Stop That Man     3:34
10 Wait for a Minute     3:55
11 Left Behind     4:36
12 Rocking Chair     2:05
13 Manchild     3:10
2014 4AD
•  All songs written and composed by Merrill Garbus.
  Merrill Garbus — vocals, ukulele, percussion (2006–present)
  Nate Brenner — bass (2009–present)
Touring members:
  Matt Nelson — saxophone
  Noah Bernstein — saxophone
  Kasey Knudsen — saxophone
Background and recording:

•  In early 2013, Garbus took a trip to Haiti to work on the follow up to her 2011 release Whokill.
•  The album was recorded in July and August 2013 at Electric Lady Studios and was mixed in October 2013 with the help of Eli Crews. It will feature the a cappella singing group Roomful of Teeth.
Exclusive CD, vinyl, and t–shirt bundles available:
•  Instant downloads of "Water Fountain" and "Wait for a Minute" with pre-order
•  First 2,000 pre–orders will receive a digital print signed by Merrill
•  First 200 vinyl orders will receive a Water Fountain/Nikki Nack Megamix 7"
•  First 100 vinyl bundle orders will come with the Limited Edition Red Vinyl
Editorial Reviews
••  tUnE–yArDs’ third album nikki nack sees her enlist producers to help her achieve new heights. Contributions from Malay (Frank Ocean, Alicia Keys, Big Boi) and John Hill (Rihanna, Shakira, M.I.A.) enhance tUnE–yArDs’ signature sound. A record that could only have been made by its creator, at heart it's heavy yet still retains a sense of fun.

By Michael Nelson @ Mar 3rd ‘14, 7:35am
•  The last album released by Merrill Garbus, aka tUnE–yArDs, 2011′s Whokill, was a pretty ludicrously huge success; it eventually topped the Pazz & Jop Poll, as good an aggregator of critical mass as any, handily beating out the likes of PJ Harvey’s Let England Shake and Watch The Throne. Garbus has just released the details for Whokill’s follow–up: The new tUnE–yArDs LP will be titled Nikki Nack, and it’s out May 6 on 4AD. Garbus also revealed some new music in the form of a “MegaMix,” which puts all the songs from Nikki Nack into a single two–and–a-half–minute track.
Fortaken: http://www.stereogum.com/
••  When Merrill Garbus first committed her tUnE–yArDs persona to tape, she used a simple dictaphone to capture every part and then lovingly pieced it all together on GarageBand. A laborious process partly enforced by tight finances, the resulting album Bird–Brains (2009) was a sheer joy.
••  A record so unique, it immediately set hearts racing; The Guardian in their five–star review went as far as to call her “the find of the year.” At the same time, she enlisted Nate Brenner on bass to help her make tUnE–yArDs an unmissable live act. It worked. Word of mouth quickly spread, helping to fill every venue they played and to take the magic of Bird–Brains across the world. Shortly after, Merrill relocated from Montreal to Oakland, California, a new home that would have…_
  TUnE–yArDs is the lo–fi experimental folk project of Merrill Garbus, also of the noisy indie pop band Sister Suvi. A truly solo project, Garbus began writing and performing under the tUnE–yArDs moniker in 2006. She assembled songs with a digital voice recorder and shareware mixing software, making a homespun patchwork of found sounds, field recordings, ukulele, unusual percussion, and her surprisingly soulful vocals. It took Garbus two years to piece her debut album, Bird–Brains, together, then she offered it as a pay–what–you–want download on the tUnE–yArDs website. Thanks to frequent touring with artists like Thao and positive buzz from music blogs, Garbus sold over $1,000 worth of copies of the album. In spring 2009, Marriage Records released the album on vinyl; that summer 4AD reissued it in a special screen–printed version limited to 1,000 copies before releasing a widely distributed CD version of Bird–Brains that fall, coinciding with a tour opening for the Dirty Projectors. For 2011’s W H O K I L L, Garbus added bassist Nate Brenner to the fold and ventured into a professional studio for a more polished but still wide–ranging sound. Early in 2013, Garbus returned with tUnE–yArDs as Yoko, a single that saw her covering and remixing two of of Yoko Ono’s songs to benefit the Rockaway Waterfront Alliance, one of the charities helping those affected by Hurricane Sandy.
Website: http://tune-yards.com/

tUnE–yArDs — Nikki Nack (2014)