Při poskytování služeb nám pomáhají soubory cookie. Používáním našich služeb vyjadřujete souhlas s naším používáním souborů cookie. Více informací

Villagers — Where Have You Been All My Life? (8th January 2016)

Villagers — Where Have You Been All My Life? (8th January 2016)            Villagers — Where Have You Been All My Life? (8th Jan. 2016)                         ↵   Villagers, a solo vehicle for Irish singer~songwriter Conor J. O’Brien, specializes in atmospheric, indie folk/chamber pop that balances the youthful exuberance of contemporaries Jens Lekman, Eugene McGuinness, and Johnny Flynn with the classic rock and pop of artists like Paul Simon and Robert Wyatt. Formed in the late 2000s after the breakup of his band The Immediate, O’Brien began writing his own, solo material. 
2008 in Dublin, Ireland

Location: Dublin, Ireland
Album release: 8th January 2016
Record Label: Domino
Duration:     54:45
01. Set the Tigers Free     4:32
02. Everything I Am is Yours     4:20
03. My Lighthouse     2:45
04. Courage     4:34
05. That Day     4:56
06. The Soul Serene     4:49
07. Memoir     3:27
08. Hot Scary Summer     4:22
09. The Waves     7:06
10. Darling Arithmetic     3:53
11. So Naive     6:00
12. Wichita Lineman     4:01
•  Where Have You Been All My Life?, released on 8th January 2016, is a collection of songs that distils five years and three albums of Villagers’ songwriting into one flowing narrative.
•  Recorded in one day at London’s RAK Studio with Richard Woodcraft (Radiohead, The Last Shadow Puppets) and Villagers live engineer Ber Quinn, the album is a re~imagining of older material seamlessly woven with present glories from Villagers’ most recent studio album, Darling Arithmetic.
•  Released in April 2015, Conor O’Brien’s third album under the guise of Villagers was a more pared~back, intimate journey compared to the multi~faceted arrangements of Becoming A Jackal (2010) and {Awayland} (2013). This fresh approach was extended on subsequent Villagers tours, where old songs were reinvented to match the new. Then for one day in July 2015, 18 songs were quickly captured and 12 songs chosen for the final album, making it Villagers’ most intense, but satisfying, session to date. These recordings are all first or second takes, and the immediacy of the occasion was part of the magic that day, live and unadorned by overdubs or studio trickery.
•  The unique nature of these arrangements is due in no small part to the musicians in the room at the time of recording: Cormac Curran on grand piano and analogue synthesizer, Danny Snow on double bass, Mali Llywelyn on harp, mellotron and vocals, and Gwion Llewelyn on drums, flugelhorn and vocals. The result is a lush, harmony~laden and vibrant document of a time and a place.
•  Included in the album is a new recording of ‘Memoir’, which O’Brien wrote for Charlotte Gainsbourg; it can be found on her 2011 album Stage Whisper, but has never before been recorded by Villagers until now.
Label: http://www.dominorecordco.com/

Villagers — Where Have You Been All My Life? (8th January 2016)


6. 4. 2020


4. 4. 2020




Teho Teardo — Ellipsis dans l’harmonie (March 6th, 2020)
Tais Awards & Harvest Prize
Strachovská 520, Pelhřimov, CZE